Faculty staff

The Faculty of Health has a team of over 50 people, led by Executive Dean Professor Brendan Crotty. Visit each school to see its staff and you’ll get a good idea of just how big the faculty is. Every staff member has a profile so you can find out more about them.


Executive Dean Faculty of Health
Professor Brendan Crotty

Executive Assistant
Deanna Errey

Deputy Executive Dean and Head of School, Nursing and Midwifery
Alfred Deakin Professor Maxine Duke

Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning
Associate Professor Lynn Riddell

Associate Dean, International
Professor David Mellor

Associate Dean, Research
Professor Trish Livingston

Head of School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences
Alfred Deakin Professor David Crawford

Head of School of Health and Social Development
Professor Catherine Bennett

Dean of School of Medicine
Professor Jon Watson

Head of School of Psychology
Professor Gregory Tooley

Functional groups

General Manager team

Faculty General Manager
Alice Di Pasquale 
Administrative Officer
Ann Lawrence          
Planning Analyst
Deb Clarke          
Coordinator Human and Physical Resources
Jill Delany

Academic Development Unit

Educational Developer
Dr Ian Story           
Dionne Holland          
Associate Lecturer, Educational Technology
Jane Acopian          
Digital Education Designer
Kristy Anderson          
Digital Education Designer
Tristan Kirby          
Learning Environments Technical Officer
Naomi Davis

Biostatistics Unit

Director, Biostatistics Unit
Dr Liliana Orellana          
Senior Research Fellow, Biostatistics
Dr Mohammadreza Mohebbi          
Senior Research Fellow, Biostatistics
Dr Steve Bowe

Curriculum and Governance

Manager, Academic Governance and Curriculum
Linda Levey          
Administrative Officer, Curriculum
Catherine Martinson


Faculty Finance Manager
Erin Colegate          
Senior Finance Officer
Lorraine Rodricks

Health Informatics Unit

Professor of Health Informatics Management
Professor Nilmini Wickramasinghe

Student and Academic Services

Manager of Health, Student and Academic Services
Melinda Thomas          
Senior Student Services Coordinator
Jane Andrews          
Student Experience Coordinator
Tracey Summerfield-Owers          
Faculty Timetable Coordinator
Helen McAllister          
Administrative Officer
Simon Berry
Administrative Officer
Barb Edwards 
Administrative Officer
Grace Sinclair
Administrative Officer
Kate Walter
Administrative Officer
Kelly McDonald
Administrative Officer
Lisa Resuggan
Administrative Officer
Alanah Scott
Administrative Officer
Maria Calafiore


Manager, Marketing and Communications
Alix Austin 
Marketing Officer, Melbourne Burwood
Renee Chaviaras 
Marketing Officer, Geelong and Warrnambool
Aredi Nozohour
Communications Officer
Lucy Ayers

Partnerships and International

Manager, Partnerships and International
Izabela Sulek          
International Coordinator
Nadeeka Colley


Manager, Collaborative Programs and Research
Steven Sawyer


Senior Technical Projects Manager
Stan Berends          
Technical Projects Manager
Scott Owens          
Technical Project Manager
Ben Letson          
Web Applications Project Manager
Matthew Berends