Staff listing

The School of Health and Social Development is a large and diverse school, with staff that specialise across allied health, inclusion, disability, environment and social work. 

Head of School of Health and Social Development

Professor Jennifer Watts

Professor Jennifer Watts is the Head of School of Health and Social Development. She is a health economist and over the past 20 years she has established a strong record in health economics, in both teaching and research.

Key contacts

Professor Jennifer Watts, Head of School, School of Health and Social Development

Professor Beth Crisp, Deputy Head of School

Sally Speirs, School Manager

Dr Kelli Nicola-Richmond, Associate Head of School, Teaching and Learning

Professor Lisa Barnett, Associate Head of School, Research

Berni Murphy, Associate Head of School, International and Partnerships

Professor Tony LaMontagne, Director, Determinants of Health

Professor Suzanne Robinson, Director, Deakin Health Economics

Anna Peeters, Director, Institute for Health Transformation

Professor Steven Allender, Director, Obesity Prevention Unit

Vanesa Angelevski, Executive Officer

Discipline leads

Associate Professor Angela Dew, Discipline Lead, Disability and Inclusion

Professor Beth Crisp, Discipline Lead, Social Work

Associate Professor Kirk Reed, Discipline Lead, Occupational Therapy

Dr Claire Henderson-Wilson, Discipline Lead, Health Society and Environment

Dr Matthew Dunn, Discipline Lead, Public Health and Health Promotion

Dr Judi Parson, Discipline Lead, Play Therapy

Our people


Julie Abimanyi-Ochom, Lecturer in Public Health

Rojan Afrouz, Lecturer in Social Work

Sadika Akhter, Dean’s Research Postdoctoral Fellowship

Fiona Andrews, Senior Lecturer

Kathryn Backholer, Associate Professor

Norma Barrett, Lecturer in Public Health and Health Promotion

Catherine Bennett, Alfred Deakin Professor, Chair in Epidemiology

Adrian Cameron, DECRA Associate Professor

Teresa Capetola, Lecturer

Emma Clark, Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

Jenny Crosbie, Lecturer

Angela Daddow, Senior Lecturer

Jennifer David, Lecturer

Belinda Dean, Lecturer in Play Therapy

Angela Dew, Associate Professor in Disability and Inclusion

Joh Donkers, Lecturer

Lucy Dripps, Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

Priscilla Dunk-West, Associate Professor in Social Work

Matthew Dunn, Senior Lecturer

Sarah Epstein, Senior Lecturer

Pearse Fay, Lecturer

John Fox, Lecturer in Social Work

Lan Gao, Senior Lecturer, Health Economist

Neetu George, Lecturer

Phoebe Godfrey, Lecturer in Play Therapy

Lisa Gold, Associate Professor

Natalie Hadiprodjo, Lecturer in Play Therapy

Claire Henderson-Wilson, Senior Lecturer

Monique Hillenaar, Project Manager and Implementation Coach

Dani Hitch, Senior Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

Victoria Hobbs, Nourish Network Coordinator

Tamara Holmes, Lecturer in Social Work

Norah Hosken, Senior Lecturer in Social Work

Kate Huggins, Associate Professor

Michelle Hunt, Lecturer in Social Work

Michelle Jackson, Research Manager and Systems Specialist

Jane Jacobs, Data Manager

Shane Kavanagh, Lecturer in Public Health

Rachel Knight, Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

Greer Lamaro Haintz, Lecturer

Justin Lawson, Lecturer

Sally Logan, Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

James Lucas, Lecturer in Social Work Field Education

Nikki Lyons, Fieldwork Supervisor, Occupational Therapy

Caroline MacKinnon, Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

Shane McIver, Lecturer

Fiona Mckay, Associate Professor

Hayley McKenzie, Lecturer in Health Sciences

Kevin Murfitt, Senior Lecturer in Disability and Inclusion

Claire Niven, Lecturer in Play Therapy

Sonia Nuttman, Lecturer in Health

Amie O'Shea, Lecturer in Disability and Inclusion

Ange Parrish, Lecturer in Indigenous Curriculum

Judi Parson, Senior Lecturer in Play Therapy

Rebecca Patrick, Senior Lecturer

Genevieve Pepin, Associate Professor

Kirk Reed, Associate Professor in Occupational Therapy

Kate Renshaw, Lecturer in Play Therapy

Kieva Richards, Lecturer

Kim Robinson, Senior Lecturer in Social Work

Gary Sacks, Associate Professor, Research

Bridget Sarah, Lecturer in Play Therapy

Russell Shuttleworth, Senior Lecturer

Louisa Smith, Senior Lecturer in Disability and Inclusion

Rebecca Stockdale, Lecturer in Public Health

Claudia Strugnell, Senior Lecturer

Patricia Taylor, Lecturer

Samantha Thomas, Professor in Public Health

Hassan Vally, Associate Professor Epidemiology

Sevi Vassos, Senior Lecturer

Chloe Wadley, Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

Elyse Warner, Lecturer

Valerie Watchorn, Senior Lecturer

Joanne Watson, Senior Lecturer in Disability and Inclusion

Silva Zavarsek, Associate Professor (Health Technology Assessment)


Megan Adam, Research Fellow

Laura Alston, Research Fellow

Jaithri Ananthapavan, Senior Research Fellow in Health Economics

Miranda Blake, Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Tara Boelsen-Robinson, Dean’s Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Shalika Bohingamu Mudiyanselage, Research Fellow

Tari Bowling, Research Fellow

Ruby Brooks, Associate Research Fellow

Andrew Brown, Research Fellow

Jennifer Browne, Research Fellow

Jessica Bucholc, Research Fellow, Project Coordinator

Jasmine Chan, Associate Research Fellow in Food Policy

Oxana Chiotelis, Research Fellow

Sarah Dean, Associate Research Fellow

Tiana Felmingham, Associate Research Fellow, STAMP

Penny Fraser, Associate Research Fellow

Elena Gospodarevskaya, Senior Research Fellow

Adyya Gupta, Dean’s Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Josh Hayward, Research Fellow Grade 2

Karen Hill, Research Fellow, Aboriginal Health

Oliver Huse, Associate Research Fellow

Francis Ip, Senior Research Fellow in Health Technology

Kelemu Kibret, Executive Dean Research Fellow

Anita Lal, Research Fellow Grade 2 – Health Economics (Cancer)

Ha Le, Executive Dean Health Research Fellow

Peter Lee, Research Fellow

Mark Lock, Research Fellow

Davina Mann, Associate Research Fellow in Food Policy

Sarah Marko, Research Fellow

Josephine Marshall, Associate Research Fellow

Florentine Martino, Research Fellow

Nikki McCaffrey, Senior Research Fellow

Simone McCarthy, Research Fellow

Siti Mohamad Asfia, Associate Research Fellow

Shaan Naughton, Research Fellow, Grade 2

Cindy Needham, Research Fellow Grade 1

Brandon Nguyen, Associate Research Fellow

Dieu Nguyen, Research Fellow

Phuong Nguyen, Research Fellow

Melanie Nichols, Senior Research Fellow

Siobhan O'Halloran, Research Fellow, STAMP

Muyiwa Omonaiye, Research Fellow

Diana Piantedosi, Associate Research Fellow

Hannah Pitt, Research Fellow, Vic Health

Jaimie Poorter, Associate Research Fellow, STAMP

Sil-ling Pruis, Research Fellow

Scott Richards-Jones, Research Fellow

Mary Rose Angeles, Associate Research Fellow in Health System Financing

Oriana Ruffini, Research Fellow in Food Policy

Feby Savira, Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Tailane Scapin, Research Fellow

Marufa Sultana, Research Fellow Grade 1

Elise Tan, Research Fellow

Sue Taylor, Research Fellow Grade 2

Utsana Tonmukayakul, Research Fellow Grade 2

Michelle Tran, Research Fellow

Anna Urbanowicz, Senior Research Fellow

Sithara Wanni Arachchige Dona, Associate Research Fellow

Nikita Wheaton, Associate Research Fellow

Sandra Younie, Senior Research Fellow in Health Economics

Christina Zorbas, Dean’s Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Contact us

Get in touch if you have any further questions regarding the School of Health and Social Development.

+61 3 9251 7777

Email the School of Health and Social Development