Riverina Murray partnerships

Deakin are building lasting and mutually beneficial partnerships across the Riverina Murray area.

We offer higher education pathways to students at TAFE NSW Riverina Institute and also have close relationships with many major local industries, governments and employers.

We partner with key organisations

We're committed to the Riverina Murray region. We’ve signed Memorandums of Understanding with key organisations in the region:

  • TAFE NSW Riverina Institute
  • City of Griffith
  • City of Albury
  • City of Wagga Wagga

TAFE NSW Riverina Institute

Our partnership with TAFE NSW Riverina Institute means that Riverina Murray students can access guaranteed entry pathways to study at Deakin.

It’s a great way to earn credit towards your Deakin degree, plus you’ll come out with two qualifications: one from Riverina Institute and the other from Deakin. TAFE NSW has campuses in more than 18 locations, from Albury to Wagga Wagga.

For information about TAFE NSW Riverina Institute courses and pathways to Deakin, please visit our TAFE pathways page.

Irrigation and water research

Deakin’s Centre for Regional and Rural Futures (CeRRF) is Australia’s premier research centre for agricultural productivity, producing research results relevant to the Riverina Murray and other regions.

Now with a site in Griffith led by two of Australia's leading water management experts, CeRRF is able to conduct world-class research right here in our own backyard.

Our research ranges from food and food security to smart agriculture and sustainable industrial biotechnology. The work we carry out is thanks to collaborations from teams that specialise in engineering, science, business, economics and the humanities.

Find out more about CeRRF

Bendigo Bank

Deakin joined with the Bendigo and Adelaide Bank, the Griffith City Council, Riverina Institute and 15 employer organisations in the Riverina region to establish the 'Grow Our Own' initiative, which provides guaranteed pathways in programs addressing skills gaps in the Riverina region.

Manufacturing and innovation

Deakin's Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment is committed to research partnerships both within the university and with colleagues in other universities, industry and government.

Our research aims to strengthen the evidence base of learning, infusing innovation and ideas into our teaching and making a difference to the communities we serve – including those in the Riverina Murray region.

Discover the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment