Alumni Profiles

Deakin University is actively seeking the involvement of alumni to share their personal experiences of Deakin and life.

Deakin alumni have taken so many varied paths and it is important that this diversity and depth is both promoted and celebrated.  The importance of shared experience cannot be underestimated. It is the personal stories that inspire, make us reflect and even change our life attitudes and direction.

If you would like to be profiled please contact the Alumni Relations Office to request a questionnaire by emailing

To view the profiles of previous Alumni Award Winners, please visit the Alumni Awards Honour Roll.

Faculty of Arts and Education

Joshua Brown
Master of Arts, Writing and Literature 2013

Gracia Baylor AM
Bachelor Of Arts 

Jan Drew
Bachelor of Education (Secondary)

Jenny Yates
Bachelor of Arts (Professional and Creative Writing) 2013 

Rosalind Bragg
Master of Politics and Policy 2009

Madison Robinson 
Bachelor of Education (Primary) 2010
Young Alumni of the Year Award 2014 

Emeritus Professor Douglas Kirsner
Personal Chair, Philosophy and Psychoanalytic Studies

Aaron Sterns 
Bachelor of Arts (Honours) 1994

Richard Bennett
Bachelor of Arts (Psychology) Honours 1996

Nazariah Sahu Palar
Master of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages 2010
Deakin Alumni of the Year Award 2011

Alan Murphy
Master of Arts (International Relations) 2008

Dr Gillian Turner
Bachelor of Arts (Hons) 1992 and 
Doctor of Philosophy 1996

Darcy Bonser
Bachelor of Contemporary Arts 2008

Matthew Newland  
Bachelor of Education (Primary) 2007 and
Master of Education (Educational Leadership and Administration) 2013

Luke Griffiths
Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Commerce 2005

Sean Jesudason
Bachelor of Arts (International Relations/Media Communications) 2008
Staff member 2008-

Nur Farisya Binti Abdul Shukor
Bachelor of Arts (Public Relations) 2007

Fiona McCallum
Bachelor of Arts (Professional Writing) 2000

Faculty of Business and Law

Lawrence Lau
MBA (CPA) 2004

Michelle Gibbings
Bachelor of Commerce 1998

Lulumbi Njeleka
Bachelor of Commerce - Economics and Finance

Tim Pethick
Master of Business Administration 1992

Judith Kohn
Master of Business (Sport Management) 2009  

Mr John Stanhope 
Bachelor of Commerce 1982
Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award 2014 

James Farrell 
Lecturer, Deakin University School of Law, Bachelor of Commerce 2006, Bachelor of Laws (Hons) 2007 and Graduate Certificate of Higher Education 2012 
Alumni Community Service Award 2014 

Christopher Kelly
Former Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Business and Law

Peter Niblett
Bachelor of Commerce 1985 

Fiona Campbell
Bachelor of Commerce 1991

Glenn Findlay
Bachelor of Commerce 1999

Peter Theodoropoulos
Bachelor of Commerce (Hons) 2000

Altay Atli
Graduate Diploma in International Trade 2000 and 
Master of International Business 2001

Janet Dore
Master of Business Administration 1984
Deakin Alumni of the Year Award 2013

David McAllister AM
Graduate Diploma of Arts and Entertainment Management 2000
Deakin Alumni of the Year Award 2012

Benjamin (Ben) Graham
Bachelor of Commerce 2007
Deakin Alumni of the Year Award 2012

Victor Xu
Master of International Trade and Business 2000 and
Graduate Diploma of International Trade 1999

James Osenaris
Bachelor of Commerce 2006

Mark Hui

Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) 2004

Faculty of Health

Jessica Holsman
Postgraduate Diploma of Psychology 2014

Ian Dowson
Bachelor of Applied Science (Human Movement) 2000

Rozaine Cooray
Bachelor of Applied Science (Psychology) 2004

Hyder Gulam
Bachelor of Nursing 1997

Hannah Gentile
Master of Human Nutrition 2010
Deakin Young Alumni of the Year Award 2012

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

Nino Ficca 
Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) 1982
Alumni of the Year Award 2014 

Anthony (Tony) Arnel
Bachelor of Architecture 1979 

Janelle Boynton
Bachelor of Arts (Architecture) (Honours) 1998 and Master of Architecture 1999

Nicole Walters
Bachelor of Arts (Architecture) 2001 and Bachelor of Architecture 2007

Saifuddin Bin Ahmad
Bachelor of Architecture 1983

Dr George (Alex) Bremner
Bachelor of Arts (Architecture) 1997, Bachelor of Arts (Architecture) Hons 1998 and Master of Architecture 2001
Deakin Alumni of the Year Award 2011

Rajesh (Raj) Marfatia
Bachelor of Arts in Architecture 1993 and Bachelor of Architecture 1998

Dr Adam Tomison
Bachelor of Science (Hons) 1988
Deakin Alumni of the Year Award 2011

Picture of Benjamin GrahamPicture of Richard ColmanPortrait of Richard BennettPortrait of Sarah GrantPortrait of Fiona CampbellPortrait of Sean JesudasonPortrait of Janet DorePicture of Neza PalarPortrait of David McAllisterPortrait of Nur ShukorPortrait of Fiona McCallumPicture of Adam TomisonPortrait of Alan MurphyPortrait of Mark HuiPortrait of Nicole WaltersPortrait of Darcy BonserPortrait of Rozaine CoorayPortrait of Janelle BoyntonPortrait of Hyder Gulam

Page custodian: Vice-President (Advancement)
Last updated: