Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

HSW313 - Anti-Oppressive Approaches to Social Work: Social Work Theory and Practice F

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Enrolment modes:(S, X)
Credit point(s):1
Offerings: Trimester 2
EFTSL value: 0.125
Cohort rule:

This unit is available only to students enrolled in the Bachelor of Social Work (H330)

Unit chair:

N Hosken (S)


HSW314 (or equivalent practice experience approved by the unit chair, provided students have completed all level 1 and level 2 HSW coded core units)

Contact hours: There will be a compulsory residential workshop for all off-campus students. Attendance at this workshop is a hurdle requirement necessary to pass this unit. On-campus students are expected to attend a minimum of 90% of classes.
Note: Online teaching methods require internet access. Please refer to the most current computer specifications.


This unit links anti-oppressive theories to social work practice. It develops,  assessment, counselling and intervention skills and focuses on particular social work settings and specific client groups. The unit utilises critical reflection, mutual inquiry, small group discussion, exercises and  role play practice across situations from key fields of social work practice with different populations and issues. Social work theory, values and ethics will be integral to this practice unit.


Essay (1500 words) 50%, video role play (12-15 minutes) and written critical analysis of role play (1000 words) 50%

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007