Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

AIB205 - Second Year Arabic In-Country

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Offering information:

Offered in alternating years 2014, 2016.

Enrolment modes:(X-OS)
Credit point(s):2

Trimester 3

Unit chair:H Kasem

Students must contact the Unit Chair, or Arts and Education Student Support prior to enrolling in this unit.
Note: Online teaching methods require internet access. Please refer to the most current computer specifications.


This unit aims at extending and deepening students’ Arabic language skills and improving their understanding of the Middle Eastern culture by studying and using Arabic in the target language environment. As in AIB152 Arabic 1B, emphasis will be given to the development of practical language skills for aural comprehension and expression. The basic communicative functions, syntactic patterns and vocabulary acquired will be considerably broadened and consolidated. The vocabulary range of students will be expanded by exposing them to a variety of reading material from prescribed textbooks and from the current press.

By living with a host family and interacting with the community around them, students will develop confidence and competence using the language in the setting where it is spoken. In addition, students will be able to gain insight into the Arabic culture in general and the culture of the host country in particular. Within the classroom, communicative methodologies will be emphasised though activities including role-plays, games and exercises. Contextually-based exercises will be set and students will be required to complete specific communicative tasks appropriate to their level.


Class participation 10%, Assignments 20%, Mid trimester written test 20%, End of trimester oral test 20%, End of trimester written test 30%

Unit Fee Information

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007