4th International Workshop on Applications and Techniques in Information Security (ATIS)

26 September 2013, Sydney Australia

Held in conjunction with SecureComm 2013

The 2013 International Workshop on Applications and Technologies in Information Security (ATIS), held in conjunction with SecureComm 2013, was the fourth event in the ATIS series, which started in 2010.

ATIS 2013 focused on all aspects on techniques and applications in information security research. The purpose of ATIS is to provide a forum for presentation and discussion of innovative ideas, research results, applications and experience from around the world as well as highlight activities in the related areas.

Workshop Committee

Steering Chairs:
Professor Lynn Batten, Deakin University, Australia.
Professor Jemal Abawajy, Deakin University, Australia.

General Chair:
Dr Rafiqul Islam, Charles Sturt University, Australia.

Workshop Secretary:
Judy Chow, Deakin University, Australia.

Program Committee:
Dr Leijla Batina, Radboud University, The Netherlands.
Professor Gleb Beliakov, Deakin University, Australia
Maumita Bhattacharya, Charles Sturt University, Australia.
Dr Morshed Chowdhury, Deakin University, Australia
Dr Bernard Colbert, Deakin University, Australia
Dr Honghua Dai, Deakin University, Australia
Dr Robin Doss, Deakin University, Australia
Dr Zahid Islam, Charles Sturt University, Australia.
Dr Syed Samsul Islam, University of Western Australia, Australia.
Dr Andrei Kelarev, Ballarat University, Australia
Dr Mohammad Kaosar, Charles Sturt University, Australia.
Elisabeth de Leeuw, IdTopIQ, The Netherlands
Dr Gang Li, Deakin University, Australia
Dr Quazi Mamun, Charles Sturt University, Australia.
Dr Vicky Mak, Deakin University, Australia
Md Anwar H Masud, Charles Sturt University, Australia.
Dr Wenjia Niu, Institute of Acoustics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Dr Lei Pan, Deakin University, Australia
Dr Udaya Parampalli, Melbourne University, Australia
Dr Sumon Sahriar, Intelligent Sensing and Systems Laboratory CSIRO ICT Centre, Australia.
Dr Steve Versteeg, CA Labs, Australia
Associate Professor Jinlong Wang, Qingdao Technological University, Qingdao, China
Dr Xiaofeng Wang, Wireless Sensor Network Laboratory, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Professor Matthew Warren, Deakin University, Australia
Professor John Yearwood , Ballarat University, Australia
Associate Professor Xun Yi, Victoria University, Australia

Key interest areas

  • Access control
  • Anti-Virus and Anti-Worms
  • Authentication and Authorization
  • Cloud Security
  • Computer / Digital Forensics
  • Data and System Integrity
  • Database Security
  • Distributed Systems Security
  • Electronic Commerce Security
  • Crypto/Security Systems
  • Information Hiding and Watermarking
  • Intellectual Property Protection
  • Intrusion Detection
  • Key Management and Key Recovery
  • Language-based Security
  • Malicious software
  • Network Security
  • Operating System Security
  • Privacy Protection
  • Risk Evaluation and Security Certification
  • Security for Cyber-physical Systems
  • Security for Mobile Computing
  • Security Models
  • Security Protocols
  • Smartphone Security
  • Software Security
  • Trusted and Trustworthy Computing
  • Smartphone Security

Invited Talk

Professor Kouichi SakuraiProfessor Kouichi Sakurai
Kyushu University and Institute of Systems & Information Technologies and Nanotechnologies

Revisiting Identity-based encryption towards no-escrow: Application and analysis of Embedding Secret Key Information in RSA moduli

This talk first surveys existing approaches of Identity-based encryption schemes mainly based on the public key N = pq including RSA. Also we discuss the escrow problem associated with such IBE schemes, and consider how to fight against this escrow. We develop a new method to prevent impersonations of a public key owner by extending the existing technique to embed the information in the public key. Furthermore, we apply our method to design an anonymous encryption scheme. Also we report on further analysis of Lenstra's algorithm of embedding secret information into RSA moduli . (This is joint work with Motiki KITAHARA, Takanori YASUDA and Takashi NISHIDE.)

Biodata: Kouichi Sakurai received the B.S. degree in mathematics from the Faculty of Science, Kyushu University in 1986. He received the M.S. degree in applied science in 1988, and the Doctorate in engineering in 1993 from the Faculty of Engineering, Kyushu University.

He was engaged in research and development on cryptography and information security at the Computer and Information Systems Laboratory at Mitsubishi Electric Corporation from 1988 to 1994. From 1994, he worked for the Dept. of Computer Science of Kyushu University in the capacity of associate professor, and became a full professor there in 2002.

He is concurrently working also with the Institute of Systems & Information Technologies and Nanotechnologies, as the chief of Information Security laboratory, for promoting research co-oporations among the industry, university and government under the theme "Enhancing IT-security in social systems". He has been successful in generating such co-operation between Japan, China and Korea for security technologies as the leader of a Cooperative International Research Project supported by the National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT) during 2005-2006. Moreover, in March 2006, he established research co-oporations under a Memorandum of Understanding in the field of information security with Professor Bimal Kumar Roy, the first time Japan has partnered with The Cryptology Research Society of India (CRSI).

Professor Sakurai has published more than 200 academic papers around cryptography and information security (See: http://www.informatik.uni-trier.de/~ley/db/indices/a-tree/s/Sakurai:Kouichi.html)

View the workshop programme (PDF, 11.8 KB)

Selected papers from ATIS 2013 were invited to submit the extended version for publication to the special issue of Journal of Network (ERA Rank "A" Journal).

Jointly organised with:

Charles Sturt University logo

Page custodian: Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment
Last updated: