Deakin University applauds Australia Day 2024 Honours List appointees

Deakin news

07 February 2024

Deakin University staff, former staff, students, alumni and supporters have been recognised for their commitment to excellence and contribution to their communities in the 2024 Australian Day Honours list.

Included in the list is Margaret Leonie Edmond AM, honoured as a Member of the Order of Australia in the General Division for significant service to architecture, to tertiary education and to professional organisations.

Edmond was Deakin's Acting Deputy Chancellor from 2004 to 2007, a Council Member from 1999 to 2011 and Chairperson of Deakin's Campus Planning Committee from 2003 to 2011.

Deakin Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin said the Australia Day Honours were a fantastic recognition of service to the community.

'We are very proud to see the dedication of so many in the Deakin community rewarded with such a prestigious honour,' he said.

Deakin's 2024 Australia Day Honours list recipients include:

Officer of the Order of Australia in the Military Division (AO)

Air Marshal Robert Timothy CHIPMAN - For distinguished service in responsible positions as Australia's Military Representative to the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation; and as Head of Military Strategic Commitments Branch

Alumnus: MBA, 2017

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division

Janine BARRAND - For significant service to the museum, arts and cultural sector

Alumna: Graduate Diploma of Museum Studies, 1983

Douglas Scott CHAPMAN - For significant service to the community of Victoria through a range of governance roles

Alumnus: Bachelor of Education Physical Education, 1982 (Victoria College)

Margaret Leonie EDMOND - For significant service to architecture, to tertiary education, and to professional organisations

Acting Deputy Chancellor 2004-2007

Council Member 1999-2011

Chairperson, Campus Planning Committee 2003-2011

Dr Ian James HARDINGHAM KC - For significant service to the law and legal reform in Victoria

Former Adjunct Professor of Law

Gregory Joseph JOHNSON - For significant service to community health through diabetes governance, reform and education

Former Adjunct Professor

The late Emeritus Professor Adrian LEE - For significant service to tertiary education, to microbiology, and to professional organisations

Honorary doctorate 2010

Robert James MASTERS - For significant service the marketing and communications sector, and to charitable organisations

Member, Masters Course Review Committee of Communication

Alan John SPARKS - For significant service to apprenticeship and vocational training, and to veterans

Alumnus: Bachelor Of Arts, 1995

Diana Clare TAYLOR - For significant service to Australian rules football, and to the community of Geelong

Alumna: Bachelor Of Arts / Bachelor of Laws, 1999

Current Member and former Chair, Deakin Law School Advisory Board

MaryBernadette UZELAC - For significant service to the community of Barwon South West Region

Alumna: Bachelor of Commerce, 1981

Committee Member (historical); Volunteer

Professor Glenda Maria WARDLE - For significant service to science in the field of ecology and evolution


Member of the Order of Australia in the Military Division (AM)

Rear Admiral Matthew Paul BUCKLEY - For exceptional service in senior leadership roles within the Royal Australian Navy

Alumnus: Master of Arts (International Relations), 2018

Air Commodore Gretchen Elizabeth FRYAR - For exceptional service in Personnel Management and International Engagement for the Australian Defence Force

Alumna: Graduate Diploma of International Relations, 2001

Air Commodore Anthony John HINDMARSH - For exceptional service in Personnel Capability Management and organisational sustainment for the Royal Australian Air Force

Alumnus: Master of Arts (Strategic Studies), 2004

Group Captain Hannah Louise JUDE-SMITH - For exceptional service in intelligence capability development, strategic planning and international relations for the Australian Defence Force

Alumna: Master of Arts (International Relations), 2010

Major General Jason Kyle WALK - For exceptional service to the Australian Defence Force in strategic logistics, operations support and sustainment

Alumnus: MBA, 2018

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division

Dr Joan BENJAMIN - For service to tertiary education

Former lecturer, 2015-2017

Paul BROPHY - For service to aged welfare, and to the community

Alumnus: Diploma in Social Science, 1976

Leon Francis COSTERMANS - For service to conservation and the environment

Alumnus: Toorak Teachers College, 1957

Claire Frances COTTER - For service to people with disability

Former course coordinator, 1990s

Vincent John FEENEY - For service to secondary education

Alumnus: Bachelor of Education (Language and Literature), 1979

Gary Marsden GOLDING - For service to science in the field of chemistry

Alumnus: MBA, 2002

Georgina Sarah GUBBINS - For service to primary industry, and to the community

Alumna: Graduate Certificate of Diabetes Education, 1999; Bachelor of Nursing (Post registration), 1995

Lisa HASKER - For service to sports administration

Alumna: Graduate Diploma of Sport Management, 1999; Graduate Diploma of Education (Sports Science), 1993

Committee Member (Sport Management Advisory Board)

Devorah Anne KOMESAROFF - For service to the Jewish community of Victoria

Alumna: Graduate Diploma of Education (TESL), 1989

Peter Derek LEVI - For service to business, and to the community

Mentor, Deakin Centre for Refugee Employment, Advocacy, Training and Education (CREATE), 2021

Timothy Ross MCLEOD - For service to music through pipe bands

Alumnus: Bachelor of Arts in Architecture, 1992; Bachelor of Architecture, 1998

Kate MUNRO - For service to youth through social welfare organisations

Alumna: Master of International and Community Development, 2016

Carly-Anne MYERS - For service to community health, and to people with disability

Current student

Dr Margaret Mary O'DONNELL - For service to education, and to the community

Alumna: Bachelor of Education, 1989

Barbara Josephine POWER - For service to child welfare organisations

Alumna: Master of Professional Education and Training, 2008

Professor Michael David REILLY - For service to the community through a range of organisations

Alumnus: Graduate Diploma of Business (Human Resources Development), 1992

Zeynep YESILYURT - For service to multicultural communities, and to women's affairs

Former staff member

Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC)

Brigadier Mark Norman ARMSTRONG - For outstanding achievement as Commander Joint Task Group 629.3 on Operation FLOOD ASSIST 2022

Alumnus: Master of International Security, 2003

Current PhD student

Conspicuous Service Medal (CSM)

Chaplain (Wing Commander) Lindsay Brian CAREY - For devotion to duty in Moral Injury research and the development of resources and training to support Australian Defence Force personnel

Alumnus: Graduate Diploma of Education, 1987

Australian Police Medal (APM)

Commander Melinda Jane PHELAN

Alumna: Bachelor Of Laws, 2003

Australian Corrections Medal (ACM)


Alumnus: Doctor of Philosophy, 2016

Honorary Fellow, School of Psychology

For further information on the Australians recognised in this year's awards visit the website of the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Share this story

More like this

Deakin news