Awards and prizes

This page provides a listing of upcoming Research Awards and Prizes offered by journals, conferences and professional organisations. Please email at least 10 days prior to the external submission date if you are intending to apply for

  • A prize/award in this list or
  • Another award/prize not in the list.

Prizes and awards which require review or submission by the Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research also have an internal closing date for submission and those dates are listed below.

Open awards and prizes

Prize or AwardDescription Internal due date
(To DVRC Office)
External due date
Max Crawford Medal

Prestigious award for achievement and promise in the humanities. Presented biennially to an Australian-based, early career scholar for outstanding achievement in the humanities, whose research and publications make an exceptional contribution to the understanding of their discipline by the general public.

N/A 20th April, 2020
Publication Subsidy Scheme Subsidies of up to $3000 are awarded to support costs associated with publication, such as illustrations, maps and copyright fees. N/A 20th April, 2020
Medal for Excellence in Translation A monetary prize of $1000 awarded biennially for a book-length translation into English of a work of any genre (including scholarship) from any language and period. N/A 20th April, 2020
APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE) Annual award, valued at $25,000 USD (approximately $32,000 – $34,000 AUD), which recognises young scientists from APEC economies who have demonstrated a commitment to both excellence in scientific research, as evidenced by scholarly publication, and cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies. Theme for 2020 is Biodiversity for a Prosperous Economy. 06-April-2020 24th April, 2020
David Syme Research Prize (Academic Research) An award of AUD $8,000 recognising original research produced in Australia in the fields of biology, physics, chemistry or geology. 06-April-2020 29th April, 2020
Churchill Fellowships Fellowships of $25,000 each on average, for a minimum of 4 weeks and a maximum of approximately 8 weeks to enable Australian citizens to undertake a research project overseas of a kind that is not readily available in Australia. N/A 30th April, 2020
Tall Poppy Science Awards Recognises the achievements of Australia’s outstanding young scientific researchers and communicators 03-April-2020 30th April, 2020

Eureka Prizes (Australian Museum)

Various prizes of $10,000 each available for excellence in the fields of research & innovation, leadership and science engagement. 17-April-2020 1st May, 2020
Honorific Awards (3 categories: early, mid & prestigious career) Various awards/medal/prizes in each category. Criteria and nomination forms available under each individual award. N/A 1st May, 2020
Phillip Law Postdoctoral Award for the Physical Sciences For excellence in scientific research by an ECR in the physical sciences (which include Astronomy, Astrophysics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, all branches of Engineering, and related sciences). N/A 1st May, 2020