Deakin VC announced as new Chair of ATN Universities

Media release

12 April 2021

Deakin University is pleased to announce that Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin will be the next Chair of the Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN).

In announcing the appointment, Professor Martin acknowledged the exceptional leadership of the ATN’s outgoing Chair, Professor Attila Brungs, Vice Chancellor of University of Technology Sydney.

Professor Martin said he is looking forward to taking up this leadership role in a time of incredible change in Australia’s higher education sector.

“ATN is a strong, cooperative network of peers who all strive for the same goals. With so much change last year, Deakin was delighted to join ATN and contribute to our members' collective efforts to meet the needs of a rapidly changing economy and society. The focus and relevance of our shared mission are so important for our Nation,” he said.

“I’m very excited to become Chair and look forward to continuing the excellent working relationship I already have with my colleagues from across ATN.”

ATN Executive Director Luke Sheehy said he is looking forward to continuing to strengthen the presence of the ATN in the Australian higher education sector by working with its new Chair.

“Deakin University is our newest member university, having joined in December 2020. As Chair, Professor Martin will bring his considerable experience and energy to leading Australia’s most innovative and enterprising group of universities,” he said.

“ATN has a proud tradition of industry collaboration, producing Australia’s most job-ready graduates and delivering real-world research with impact on our economy and society.

“Now more than ever, ATN universities are important to the national economic recovery and our collective conversation about issues facing our community.

“I know that Professor Martin will continue to serve our network well after the tremendous leadership of our outgoing Chair, Professor Attila Brungs.”

Professor Martin succeeds University of Technology Sydney Vice Chancellor and President Professor Attila Brungs, whose two-year term as Chair concluded on 12 April. Professor Martin also thanked Professor Brungs for his leadership over the past two years, including through the challenges of 2020.

“I want to thank Professor Brungs for his exemplary leadership and his commitment to driving ATN’s agenda amid extraordinary circumstances. He has actively supported ATN’s growth as a network, and we are much stronger for his leadership,” Professor Martin said.

ATN universities are Australia’s five universities focused on enterprise, impact and finding solutions to issues facing our economy and society. Its member universities are Curtin University, Deakin University, RMIT University, University of South Australia, and University of Technology Sydney.

Media contact:
Glen Atwell - Media and Corporate Communications Director
M: 0428 597 468

Share this story

Share this story

More like this

Media release