Alfred Deakin International Commercial Arbitration Moot

Hosted by Deakin Law School, the Alfred Deakin International Commercial Arbitration (ICA) Moot is open to law students from Australia and overseas. Develop practical skills and compete for a shared prize.

Develop your skills alongside legal professionals

The Alfred Deakin ICA Moot provides law students from Australia and overseas with the opportunity to develop practical skills and engage with international commercial law and arbitration. You’ll also develop your advocacy skills and engage with experienced legal professionals to expand your knowledge and network with potential future colleagues.

About the Alfred Deakin ICA Moot 

The competition takes place virtually every September over four days. Each team competes in two preliminary rounds during the first two days, once as claimant and once as respondent. The elimination rounds, quarterfinals and semifinals take place on days three and four.

The rounds are judged by legal practitioners who have competed in the Vis Moot or similar moots, who practice in the field or are academics with an interest in this area of law. You will receive feedback from the arbitrators after each round to develop your skills.

Who can enter?

Who can enter?

Each law school or law student society can enter a maximum of two teams of two or three participants. All participants must be current Bachelor of Laws or Juris Doctor students. Supporters and onlookers are welcome to view the grand final. Registrations for 2024 open Monday 3 June via this page. Before then, you can contact us with any other questions.


The Alfred Deakin ICA Moot is proudly sponsored by Allens Linklaters and CIArb.

Explore law courses

Join a university in the world’s top 1% and be ready to take on tomorrow with confidence. Find out more about our Bachelor of Laws, Juris Doctor and law PhD.

Moot problem, rules, prizes and dates

Find out about the moot problem and rules, plus see the prizes on offer. Dates are revised each year the moot takes place.


You’ll have the chance to compete for a shared monetary prize. Awards are also given to the best oralists and submissions.

Winning team: shared prize of gift vouchers totaling AUD $1000. Each winner receives a certificate and trophy.

Runner-up team: individual trophies and certificates for each team member.

Best oralist (grand final): trophy and certificate.

Best oralist (rounds): trophy and certificate.

Best submission (claimant): certificate for each team member.

Best submission (respondent): certificate for each team member.

Key dates

Registration opens: Monday 3 June 2024

Registration closes: 11:59pm AEST, Tuesday 18 June 2024

Confirmation of registration: Wednesday 19 June 2024

Information session for participants: 4:30pm AEST, Monday 24 June 2024

Question release date: Tuesday 2 July 2024

Requests for clarifications due by: 11:59pm AEST, Tuesday 16 July 2024

Clarifications response released: Tuesday 23 July 2024

First submission (for Claimant) due: 11:59pm AEST, Tuesday 6 August

Exchange of memoranda: Wednesday 7 August 2024

Second submission (for respondent) due: 11:59pm AEST, Wednesday 13 August

Exchange of memoranda: Thursday, 14 August 2024

Release of Bench Notes: Friday 23 August 2024

Initial rounds: 3-4 September 2024

Elimination rounds, quarter-finals: 9 September 2024

Semi-final and grand final: 10 September 2024

Please note: The competition is run from Melbourne, Australia. All times are AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time).

We had teams from four continents … this is consistent with the essence of studying and practicing international commercial law – people from different regions working together to solve their differences and establish a better legal environment for international transactions.

Dr Shu Zhang

Coordinator 2023 Alfred Deakin International Commercial Arbitration Moot

Moot winners

We're proud that the Alfred Deakin ICA Moot has grown to become an international competition, bringing together universities from Africa, India, Vietnam, South America and Australia. It has been fantastic to see our moot community grow to a competition of 42 teams since we began in 2017.

2023 Alfred Deakin ICA Moot

A tough competition saw a reversal of last year’s grand final, with the University of New South Wales overcoming 2022 winners Lagos University. Congratulations to our winners and commendations and a big thank you to the volunteer judges who made this competition possible.

2023 grand final winner: University of Queensland
2023 runner-up: University of Lagos
Best oralist in the grand final: Lauren Ward, University of Queensland

Best submission for the claimant: University of New South Wales

Highly commended claimant submission:

  • Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law
  • O.P. Jinal Global Law School
  • Addis Ababa University
  • University of Western Australia
  • University of Nairobi.

Best submission for the respondent: University of Melbourne

Highly commended respondent submission:

  • Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law
  • University of South Africa
  • University of Pretoria
  • Deakin University
  • University of Queensland.

Previous winners

Congratulations to all our winners of the Alfread Deakin ICA moot over the years.


Winner: Lagos University
Runner-up: University of New South Wales


Winner: University of New South Wales
Runner-up: O.P. Jindal Global University Law School


Winner: University of New South Wales
Runner-up: University of Queensland


Winner: University of Queensland
Runner-up: Deakin University


Winner: Deakin University
Runner-up: Monash University


Winner: LaTrobe University
Runner-up: Deakin University

Contact us

Have a question about the competition? Contact the Alfred Deakin ICA Moot Coordinator for more information.