IND714 - Strategic Planning and Project Management for Country


2020 unit information

Enrolment modes:

Trimester 2: CBD*, Waurn Ponds (Geelong)

Credit point(s): 1
Previously coded as:


EFTSL value: 0.125




Incompatible with:


Study commitment

Students will on average spend 150 hours over the teaching period undertaking the teaching, learning and assessment activities for this unit.

Scheduled learning activities - campus

Community Based Delivery (CBD): Students are required to attend 2 x 1-week intensive classes, seminars and fieldtrips per trimester at Waurn Ponds (Geelong)


*CBD refers to the National Indigenous Knowledges, Education, Research and Innovation (NIKERI) Institute; Community Based Delivery

Enrolment in this unit is handled by the Institute of Koorie Education


Individuals taking action towards the achievement of their goals is a valuable undertaking.  However, many of the problems that people are seeking to address in their management of Country require more than the commitment of a single passionate individual working alone to address them. The physical scale of the issues, the numbers of people affected, the lack of knowledge available of solutions and the impacts of actions, as well as limited resources available requires people and organisations to use approaches that enable coordinated action towards a shared future outcome.

This unit examines the establishment and implementation of strategic planning and project planning as tools for establishing a vision and undertaking actions that work towards achieving them. By examining whole of Country plans, conservation action plans and Caring for Country project plans we will become familiar with the planning processes being used to deliver outcomes on Country that match Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples’ aspirations.

Unit Fee Information

Click on the fee link below which describes you:

Talk to a Deakin adviser about studying at Deakin today

Call 1800 693 888Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm AEST
Chat live nowMonday to Friday: 8am to 7pm AEST