The QPS team

The QPS team is led by Director Alfred Deakin Professor Maxine Duke. We are working hard to advance our understanding of health and wellbeing, in order to improve patient safety and health care outcomes.


Director and Chair in Nursing Development
Alfred Deakin Professor Maxine Duke

Co-Director and Chair in Nursing, Monash Health
Professor Alison Hutchinson


Chairs in Nursing

Chair in Nursing, Alfred Health
Alfred Deakin Professor Tracey Bucknall

Chair in Nursing, Barwon Health
Professor Trisha Dunning (AM)

Chair in Nursing, Eastern Health
Professor Julie Considine

Chair in Nursing, Epworth HealthCare
Alfred Deakin Professor Mari Botti (AM)

Chair in Nursing, Western Health
Professor Bodil Rasmussen

Associate Dean, Research

Professor Trish Livingston

Research Professor

Associate Head of School of Nursing and Midwifery, Research
Professor Elizabeth Manias


Head of School of Nursing and Midwifery
Professor Nikki Phillips

Professor Andrea Driscoll

Professor Judy Currey

Associate Professors

Associate Professor, Epworth Healthcare
Associate Professor Ana Hutchinson

Associate Professor, Monash Health
Associate Professor Bernice Redley

Associate Professor Debra Kerr

Associate Professor Helen Forbes

Associate Professor Lauren McTier

Associate Professor Pat Nicholson

Associate Professor Rochelle Wynne

Senior Lecturers

Dr Jo McDonall

Dr Stephane Bouchoucha

Dr Elizabeth Oldland


Dr Grainne Lowe

Dr Lenore Ley

Dr Pauline Wong

Dr Virginia Hagger

Dr Emily Tomlinson

Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellows

Dr Melissa Bloomer

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Anna Ugalde

Dr Helen Rawson

Dr Maryann Street

Research Fellows

Dr Joan Ostaszkiewicz

Dr Karen Wynter

Dr Sara Holton

Dr Robin Digby

Lecturer – Associate member

Dr Bec Vanderheide

Affiliate members

Senior Research Fellow - Biostatistic,
PVC's Office - Health
Dr Mohammadreza Mohebbi