Our people

Industry-connected educators and leading researchers

Learn more about Deakin Law School and Deakin Business School staff and find out about the faculty leadership empowering our students, staff and partners to work toward positive change.

Meet the Executive Dean, Faculty of Business and Law

Professor Jenni Lightowlers was Dean of the Deakin Law School from 2017 to 2023 and previously served on the University Council and as Deakin’s Deputy Chancellor. Jenni is a highly regarded adviser to universities in Australia and the South Pacific on research commercialisation and governance. A leading lawyer in life sciences and commercialisation of IP, she is a founding partner of the technology law firm, Francis Abourizk Lightowlers.

We teach, research and collaborate across many fields of expertise, aiming to benefit individuals and communities, organisations and industries. Our scholars are passionate about teaching and research and keen to engage with partners on projects that will create a positive impact.

Professor Jenni Lightowlers

Executive Dean, Faculty of Business and Law

Key contacts

Professor Jenni Lightowlers, Executive Dean Business and Law

Professor Amanda Pyman, Dean, Deakin Business School

Professor Marilyn McMahon, Dean, Deakin Law School

Professor Colin Higgins, Associate Dean, International and Partnerships

Professor Mehmet Ulubasoglu, Associate Dean, Research

Dr Dilal Saundage, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning

Associate Professor Nichola Robertson, Director, Faculty Higher Degrees Research (HRD)

Dr Paul Harrison, Director, Master of Business Administration (MBA)

Dr Tamsin Paige, Director, Juris Doctor (JD)

Dr Wade Halvorson, Senior Lecturer, Work-Integrated Learning

Dr Wayne Read, Academic Coordinator, Work-Integrated Learning

Dr Wendy Webber, Director, Student Experience

General contacts

Bernadette Paes-Lawry, Executive Assistant to the Executive Dean

Office of the Director, Providing executive support to the Faculty Executive team

Meet our school staff

Find out about the prominent professors and lecturers at Deakin Business School and Deakin Law School who could be teaching you.

Meet Deakin Business School staff
Meet Deakin Law School staff

Departmental staff

Department heads

Professor Anne Wyatt, Head of Department, Accounting

Professor Mehmet Ulubasoglu, Head of Department, Economics

Professor Xiangkang Yin, Head of Department, Finance

Professor Rajeev Sharma, Head of Department, Information Systems and Business Analytics

Professor Colin Higgins, Acting Head of Department, Management

Alfred Deakin Professor Michael Polonsky, Head of Department, Marketing

Our research

The Faculty of Business and Law partners with industry, government and community to transform ideas into impact. Our world-class researchers, facilities and networks will kick-start your research career.

Research staff


Arts & Creative Industries Research and Engagement (ACiRE)
Professor Hilary Glow, Director

Better Consumption Lab 
Associate Professor Josh Newton, Director

Deakin Behavioural Lab
Dr Jeffrey Rotman, Leadership team contact

Deakin MarTech Clinic 
Associate Professor Ali Tamaddoni, Director

Deakin MarTech Clinic
Professor Andre Bonfrer, Director

Impact Finance Hub
Dr Emma Li, Director

Leadership Futures Hub
Associate Professor Jeff Shao, Director

Leadership Futures Hub
Dr Yuen Lam Bavik, Director

Women's Entrepreneurship Research Alliance
Dr Andrea North-Samardzic, Director


Centre for Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Business
Professor Hind Benbya, Director

Centre for Disaster Resilience and Economic Recovery Education
Professor Mehmet Ulubasoglu, Director

Centre for Refugee Employment, Advocacy, Training and Education (CREATE)
Dr Karen Dunwoodie, Director

Deakin Integrated Reporting Centre
Professor Peter Carey, Research Director

IPA-Deakin SME Research Centre 
Professor George Tanewski, Director

Contact us

If you have any questions for the Faculty of Business and Law, please get in touch.

Email Deakin Business School
Email Deakin Law School