School staff

Contact a staff member from the School of Engineering, browse their staff profile or read their publications.

Head of School of Engineering

Acknowledgment of Country

The School of Engineering acknowledge the Wadawurrung people of the Geelong region, the Traditional Owners of the land on which the School is built. We pay our respects to the local people and to their Elders; past, present and future.

Welcome from the Head of School, Professor Ben Horan

The School of Engineering at Deakin continues to:

  • develop graduates that are engaged and connected to industry and community using a unique, project-based and industry-orientated curriculum
  • deliver unique approaches to engineering education, including our premium online learning platform which attracts a diverse range of students from across the country
  • build skills and knowledge in a broad range of engineering disciplines to help build future engineers that are prepared for challenges in front of us
  • provide opportunities for students to use state-of-the-art engineering equipment and tools, preparing them for jobs of the future
  • undertake high-quality fundamental and applied research, aligning with the engineering disciplines within the school as well as strategic research themes.

Since the school’s establishment, engineering graduates have helped form a strong community that includes industry partners and professional bodies that contribute to our dynamic and distinctive local and international identity. Engineering is now an integral part of Deakin and a great partner to those we collaborate with and the communities that we serve.

Key contacts

Professor Ben Horan, Head of School Engineering

Professor Mahmud Ashraf, Associate Head of School (Research)

Professor David Morton, Associate Head of School (Industry Engagement)

Associate Professor Lloyd Chua, Associate Head of School (International)

Dr Kazem Ghabraie, Associate Head of School (Teaching & Learning)

Professor Pubudu Pathirana, Head of Discipline (Electrical & Electronics & Mechatronics Engineering)

Associate Professor Ashim Debnath, Head of Discipline (Civil & Environmental Engineering)

Associate Professor Siva Krishnan, Postgraduate Director

Dr Mariana Paulino, Course Director, Mechanical Engineering

Ms Neema Thomas-Cucinotta, School Manager

Mr Damien Elderfield, Technical Manager

Academic staff

Civil and environmental engineering

Professor Mahmud Ashraf, Associate Head of School (Research)

Professor Bre-Anne Sainsbury, Professor

Professor Wendy Timms, Professor (Environmental Engineering)

Associate Professor Lloyd Chua, Associate Head of School (International)

Associate Professor Ashim Debnath, Head of Discipline (Civil & Environmental)

Associate Professor Wei Xu, Associate Professor (Additive Manufacturing Engineering)

Dr Riyadh Al-Ameri, Senior Lecturer

Dr Susanga Costa, Senior Lecturer

Dr Kazem Ghabraie, Senior Lecturer

Dr James Gong, Senior Lecturer

Associate Professor Nick Milne, Associate Professor

Dr Ellen Moon, Senior Lecturer

Dr Svetlana Stevanovic, Senior Lecturer

Dr Mahbube Subhani, Senior Lecturer

Dr Bidur Kafle, Lecturer

Dr Nhu Nguyen, Lecturer

Industry engagement and engineering education

Professor David Morton, Associate Head of School (Industry Engagement)

Associate Professor Siva Krishnan, Postgraduate Director

Mr Rob McHenry, Lecturer

Electrical, electronic and mechatronic engineering

Professor Ben Horan, Head of School Engineering

Professor Abbas Kouzani, Professor

Professor Pubudu Pathirana, Head of Discipline (Electrical & Electronics & Mechatronics Engineering)

Professor Hieu Trinh, Professor

Associate Professor Nasser Hosseinzadeh, Associate Professor (Electrical and Electronics)

Dr Hamid Abdi, Senior Lecturer

Dr Saman Asghari Gorji, Senior Lecturer

Dr Md Enamul Haque, Senior Lecturer

Dr Shama Islam, Senior Lecturer

Dr Sui Yang Khoo, Senior Lecturer

Dr Andrew Price, Senior Lecturer

Dr Samson Yu, Senior Lecturer

Dr Scott Adams, Lecturer

Dr Benjamin Champion,Lecturer

Dr Ameen Gargoom, Lecturer

Dr Mohammad Taufiqul Arif, Lecturer

Mechanical engineering

Professor Bernard Rolfe, Professor (Advanced Manufacturing)

Professor Mike Tan, Professor (Applied Electrochemistry And Corrosion Technologies)

Professor Jeong Whan Yoon, Professor (Applied Mechanics)

Associate Professor Tim Hilditch,  Deputy Head of School & Head of Discipline (Mechanical Engineering)

Dr Kaja Antlej, Senior Lecturer

Dr Subrat Das, Senior Lecturer

Dr Mathew Joosten, Senior Lecturer

Dr John Long, Senior Lecturer

Dr Michael Norton, Senior Lecturer

Dr Mariana Paulino, Senior Lecturer

Associate Professor Michael Pereira, Postgraduate

Dr Jorg Schluter, Senior Lecturer

Dr Ali Zare, Senior Lecturer

Dr Ali Zolfagharian, Senior Lecturer

Dr Saleh Gharaie, Lecturer

Dr Van Thanh Huynh, Lecturer

Dr Johannes Reiner, Lecturer

Dr. Clara Usma-Mansfield, Lecturer

Matt Jennings, Associate Lecturer

Ryan Mitchell, Associate Lecturer

Associate Professor Yanan Wang, Associate Professor

Technical staff

Damien Elderfield, Technical Manager

Leanne Farago, Technical Coordinator, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Uli Bauer, Senior Technical Officer, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Michael Shanahan, Senior Technical Officer, Civil Engineering

Ljupce Veljanoski (Lube), Senior Technical Officer, Civil Engineering

Robynne Hall, Technical Coordinator, Mechatronics and Electrical Engineering

James Lamont, Senior Technical Officer, Electrical Engineering

Elton Robinson, Senior Technical Officer, Electrical and Electronics Engineering

Luke Tyrrell, Acting Technical Coordinator, Mechanical and Materials

Reza Parvizi, Senior Technical Officer, Materials Engineering

Rodney Seiffert (Rod), Senior Technical Officer, Mechanical Engineering

Matt Zampatti, Senior Technical Officer, Computer Aided Design (CAD)

Hayley Snelling, Project Manager, ASCEND Solar Car

Nathan Semianiw, Senior Technical Officer Mechatronics

Affiliated academics

Professor Carol Boyle, Honorary Fellow

Dr Abdol Ghafouri Rouzbehani, Honorary Fellow

Professor Ian Gibson, Honorary Fellow

Professor Karen Hapgood, Honorary Fellow

Professor Aman Maung Than Oo, Honorary Fellow

Dr Rechana Chandrasekharan Nair Remadevi, Honorary Fellow

John Fick, Honorary Fellow

Dr Matthew Joordens, Honorary Fellow

Dr Akif Kaynak, Honorary Fellow

Adjunct Associate Professor Paul Kremer, Honorary Fellow

Dr Kris Law, Honorary Fellow

Scott McMillan, Honorary Fellow

Dr Apel Mahmud, Honorary Fellow

Dr Nishad Mendis Nissanga, Honorary Fellow

Dr Mayuri Wijayasundara, Honorary Fellow


Dr Majid Laleh, Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Dr Pobitra Halder, Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Fellow

Dr Shahjadi Hisan Farjana, Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Dr Negin Amini, Research Fellow

Ross Blackman, Research Fellow

Dr Qi Chao, Research Fellow

Dr Saba Gharehdash, Research fellow

Dr Ying Huo, Research Fellow

Dr Milad Laghaei, Research Fellow

Dr Michael Mortimer, Research Fellow

Dr Balaji Narayaswamy, Research Fellow

Dr A B M Nasiruzzaman, Research fellow

Mr Tho Nguyen, Research Fellow

Dr Benny Zuse Rousso, Research Fellow

Nathan Semianiw, Research Fellow

Dr Mohsen Sarafraz, Research Fellow

Mr Pejush Chandra Sarker, Research Fellow

Dr Wonmongo Soro, Research Fellow

Dr Bob Varela, Research Fellow

Dr Wei Zeng, Research Fellow

Dr Tao Zhou, Research Fellow

Sandini Anuradha Hewakankanamge, Technical Officer

Pasindu Epa, Technical Officer

Dr Bipasha Kashyap, Technical Officer

Ragil Krishna, Technical Officer

Srinivas Shesham, Technical Officer

Contact us

Get in touch if you have any further questions regarding the School of Engineering.

Email the Head of School of Engineering

Email the School of Engineering administration