Rural Training Stream

Deakin’s School of Medicine is committed to addressing workforce needs and advancing the health and wellbeing of regional, rural and remote areas. The Rural Training Stream is specific to Deakin’s Doctor of Medicine.

Deakin's Rural Training Stream

Around 30 domestic places in the Doctor of Medicine are held for applicants applying through the Rural Training Stream (RTS). The RTS is open to all applicants who meet Deakin’s rural residency Modified Monash (MM) category MM 2 to MM 7.

Deakin is committed to rural Western Victoria and its associated training partners, and in recognition of this relationship is prioritising entry for applicants from this region.

Applicants should note that acceptance of a place in the RTS is a commitment to completing four clinical semesters in rural and regional Victoria during years 3 and 4 of the course. Breaking this commitment would result in the loss of a place within the Doctor of Medicine.

Course structure

The course structure of the RTS is equivalent to the general entry stream of the Doctor of Medicine. Years 1 and 2 will be undertaken at the Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus. RTS students then undertake training at one of Deakin’s rural clinical school in years 3 and 4 of the course.

Deakin has three rural clinical schools across Victoria: Warrnambool Clinical School, Ballarat Clinical School and the Rural Community Clinical School (RCCS). The RCCS provides a year-long (year 3) Longitudinal Integrated Clerkship based in nine rural communities across South Western Victoria. RTS students will be allocated to clinical schools through a preferencing process during the pre-clinical years.

Learn more about Deakin’s clinical schools

Eligibility criteria

Entry to the RTS is based on a tiered priority system, aligned with the applicant’s rural residency profile. Places will first be allocated to eligible Tier 1 applicants, and if places remain, to Tier 2 applicants and finally Tier 3 applicants. To meet the eligibility criteria for each tier, applicants must have lived for at least 10 years cumulatively or any 5 years consecutively after birth entirely within the nominated tier.

Tier 1: Deakin’s rural footprint as defined by location in the geographic area (see definition below).

Tier 2: MM 2-7 in Rural Victoria.

Tier 3: MM 2-7 in other areas of Rural Australia.

Deakin rural footprint (Tier 1)

The Deakin University footprint is all locations in the Western Victorian Primary Health Network area that are classified as MM3-MM6 (large rural towns, medium rural towns, small rural towns, remote communities). It will also include MM2 (regional centres) locations surrounding and including Ballarat, given Ballarat is the location of one of Deakin’s rural clinical schools. All other MM1 and MM2 locations within the Western Victorian Primary Health Network area and the MM3 and MM4 locations on the Bellarine Peninsula are excluded from the Deakin University rural footprint (Tier 1).

Check your eligibility for Rural Training Stream Tier 1 by completing the following steps:

  1. Is your rural location for this application within the Western Victoria Primary Health Network?
  2. Is your rural location for this application classified as MM3-MM6, or is it MM2 in or surrounding Ballarat?
  3. Can you provide evidence of residing in this location after birth for 5 years continuously or 10 years cumulatively?

If you have answered YES to all of the above, you are eligible for Tier 1 of the RTS.

How to apply

All information about applying for the Doctor of Medicine, via the general stream or Rural Training Stream, can be accessed on the Doctor of Medicine course page.

Contact us

If you'd like to speak to our friendly student advisers please call or send an online enquiry.

Call us on 1800 693 888.

Enquire online

You can also visit our Help hub for answers to questions that are asked most frequently about studying at Deakin, including entry requirements and applications.

Go to the Help hub