HDR contacts

For all general enquiries, please contact the teams below via email.

Higher Degrees by Research International Research Training Partnerships Researcher Development and Training
Domestic (Admissions and enrolments)
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au

International (Admissions and enrolments)
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au

Scholarships
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au

Examinations
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au

For enquiries relating to:

  • International Research Training Partnership Development
  • In-Country programs
  • Joint PhD programs
  • Cotutelle programs

international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au

For enquiries relating to:

  • Student training
  • Supervisor training
  • Fast Track
  • Individual Learning Plan
  • Researcher development

research-training@deakin.edu.au

For enquiries relating to:

  • Confirmation of Candidature
  • Coursework
  • Conference attendance
  • Travel
Contact the faculty/institute administration teams

artsed-hdr@deakin.edu.au
blresearch@deakin.edu.au
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
sebe-phd@deakin.edu.au
ifm-hdr-admin@deakin.edu.au
For enquiries relating to:
Placements, internships and student mentoring

phdxtra@deakin.edu.au
For enquiries relating to areas not listed above:
Graduate Research Academy

gra@deakin.edu.au

Graduate Research Academy

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
GRA staff
Pro Vice-Chancellor Researcher Development Prof Matthew Clarke
matthew.clarke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43979 B
Director, Researcher Development and Training Dr Jeanette Fyffe 
j.fyffe@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68138 B
Program Enhancement Manager Ms Amanda Mayor
amanda.mayor@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71499 G
Senior Project Officer Ms Danielle Borlovan
danielle.borlovan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72358 G
Senior Web Training Officer Ms Caitlin Foster
caitlin.foster@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78297 G
Career Pathways Officer phdxtra@deakin.edu.au N/A G

Deakin Research Training
Program Manager, Researcher Development Dr Daniela Kaleva
daniela.kaleva@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46058 B

Higher Degrees by Research
Acting Candidature Manager, Higher Degrees Ms Jenny Andrews
jenny.andrews@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68248 B        
Senior HDR Adviser - Examinations and Annual Review Ms Jenny Andrews
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au
research-reviews @deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68248 B
Senior HDR Adviser - International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Le Quan Dien
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46521 B
HDR Adviser - International Admissions and Enrolments N/AN/A N/A
HDR Adviser - International Admissions and Enrolments Mr Matthew Nye
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73785 G
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments Ms Aderyn Simon
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+613 924 45258 B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments (Mon, Tue, Thurs) Ms Indri James
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+613 924 45258 G
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Ms Sabina Khatri
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 5413 B
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Dr Prue Plummer
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 5413 B
HDR Adviser- Examinations Ms Bec Miller
bec.miller@deakin.edu.au
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45350 B

International Research Training, Deakin Research

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
International Research Training Staff
Manager of International Research Training Ms Helen Woodall
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72930 G
International Research Support CoordinatorN/AN/A N/A
International Research Support OfficerMs Kim Cunningham
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73686G
International HDR Engagement Coordinator
+61 3 925 17233B

Faculty of Arts & Education

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Andrea Witcomb
andrea.witcomb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17232 B
Faculty HDR Coordinator A/Prof  Rea Dennis
rea.dennis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68234 B
Senior HDR Adviser Ms Lisa Morwood
lisa.morwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71254 G
HDR Administration Assistant Mrs Margaret McKay
margaret.mckay@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46825 B
HDR General enquiries artsed-hdr@deakin.edu.au N/A N/A

School of Education
Head of School Prof Damien Blake
damian.blake@deakin.edu.au
N/A G
Assoc Head of School (Research) Dr Louise Paatsch
louise.paatsch@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71457 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Trace Ollis
trace.ollis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71489 G

School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Head of School Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870 B
Associate Dean (Research) Professor Andrea Witcomb
andrea.witcomb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17232 B
Associate Head Of School (Research) A/Prof. Clare Corbould
clare.corbould@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68784 B
HDR Coordinator Dr Maree Pardy
maree.pardy@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45163 B

School of Communication and Creative Arts
Associate Head Of School (Research) Dr Emily Potter
e.potter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46842 B
Head of School Mr Matthew Delbridge
hos-cca@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68482 TBA
HDR Coordinator Dr Toija Cinque
toija.cinque@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17470 B

Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Genevieve Pepin
genevieve.pepin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78462 F
HDR Coordinator Dr Will Smith
will.smith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46558 B
HDR Coordinator Prof Miguel Vatter
miguel.vatter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46682 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Sarah Hayes
s.hayes@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46982 B

Faculty of Business & Law

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) A/Prof Joshua Newton 
j.newton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17830 B
Faculty HDR Director A/Prof Nichola Robertson
nichola.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45069 B
Manager, Research Ms Bronwyn Kelly
bronwyn.kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72442 F
HDR Support Coordinator Ms Jen O'Connor
blresearch@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46125 B
Research Services Officer Ms Vilia Dukas
blresearch@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46564 B
Senior Officer Research Development Ms Kylie Koulkoudinas
blethics@deakin.edu.au
blresearchpublications@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72368 F
General Enquiries Faculty Research Office
blresearch@deakin.edu.au
N/A All
PhD Admission Enquiries PhD Admissions
bl-phd@deakin.edu.au
N/A All

Deakin Business School
Department of Accounting
Head of Department Prof Anne Wyatt
a.wyatt@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45340 B
Director of Researcher Development A/Prof Arifur Khan
arifur.khan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46857 B
Director of HDR Dr Li Liu
li.liu@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46188 B

Department of Economics
Head of Department Prof Mehmet Ulubasoglu
mehmet.ulubasoglu@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46592 B
Director of Researcher Development A/Prof Ching-Jen Sun
ching-jen.sun@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46470 B
Director of HDR Dr Francesco Carli
francesco.carli@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17040 B

Department of Finance
Head of Department Prof Xiangkang Yin
xiang.yin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45075 B
Director of Researcher Development Dr Hong Feng (John) Zhang
hong.zhang@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46547 B
Director of HDR Dr Saikat Sovan Deb
saikat.deb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17745 B

Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics
Head of Department Prof Hind Benbya
h.benbya@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68513 B
Director of Researcher Development Dr Kristijan Mirkovski
k.mirkovski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68395 B
Director of HDR Dr Van-Hau Trieu
t.trieu@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46878 B

Department of Management
Head of Department Prof Amanda Pyman
amanda.pyman@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46170 B
Director of Researcher Development Prof Andrew Noblet
andrew.noblet@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45076 B
Director of HDR Dr Ambika Zutshi
ambika.zutshi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46678 B
Deputy Director of HDR Dr Jane Menzies
jane.menzies@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45104 B

Department of Marketing
Head of Department, Marketing Prof Michael Polonsky
michael.polonsky@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46968 B
Director of Researcher Development Dr Jeff Rotman
jeff.rotman@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68843 B
Director of HDR Prof Chris Dubelaar
c.dubelaar@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43786 B

Deakin Law School
Dean of Law, Head of the Deakin Law School Dr Jenni Lightowlers
j.lightowlers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46003 B
Director of Research Prof Matthew Groves
m.groves@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73556 G
Director of HDR A/Prof Ben Saunders
b.saunders@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73462 G

Faculty of Health

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Peter Enticott
peter.enticott@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45504 B
Faculty HDR Director Dr. Kathryn Aston-Mourney
k.astonmourney@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72977 G
Faculty HDR Director A/Prof Antonina Mikocka-Walus
antonina.mikockawalus@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68575 B
Research Manager Mr Steven Sawyer
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17175 B
General HDR Enquiries health-hdr@deakin.edu.au N/A All
HDR Support Officer Mrs Debbie Evans
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72995 G

School of Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Head of School Prof Brad Aisbett
brad.aisbett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46474 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Glenn Wadley
glenn.wadley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46018 B
HDR Director A/Prof Severine Lamon
severine.lamon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 4557 B
Deputy HDR Director A/Prof Robert Shellie
robert.shellie@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45233 B
Deputy HDR Director A/Prof David Scott
d.scott@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68438 B

School of Health and Social Development
Head of School A/Prof Jennifer Watts
j.watts@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46478  S
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Sharon Brennan-Olsen
sharon.brennanolsen@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78362 B
HDR Director A/Prof Genevieve Pepin
genevieve.pepin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78462 F
Deputy HDR Director Dr Kim Robinson
kim.robinson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78205 F

School of Nursing and Midwifery
Head of School Prof Nikki Phillips
nikki.phillips@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17774 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Elizabeth Manias
emanias@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46958 B
HDR Director A/Prof Pat Nicholson
p.nicholson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46114 B

School of Medicine
Head of School Prof Gary Rogers
g.rogers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78229 G
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Alister Ward
alister.ward@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72041 G
HDR Director Prof John Stambas
john.stambas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72487 G
HDR Director Prof. Craig Smith
craig.smith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79473 G
HDR Director (In-Country) A/Prof Veer Gupta veer.gupta@deakin.edu.au +61 3 522 73008 G
HDR Director (Off-Campus) A/Prof Julia Pitcher
julia.pitcher@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73661 Geelong
(Barwon Health)
HDR Director (Master of Surgical Research) Prof. Glenn Guest
g.guest@deakin.edu.au
N/A Geelong
(Epworth Hospital)
HDR Director (Master of Philosophy) Prof. Tania de Koning-Ward tania.dekoning-ward@deakin.edu.au +61 3 522 72923 G
Acting HDR Associate Director (Off-Campus) Dr Amanda Douglas
amanda.douglass@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78565 G
HDR Associate Director A/Prof Amardeep Dillon
amardeep.dhillon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78828 G
HDR Associate Director (International) Dr Clifford Liongue
c.liongue@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73071 G

School of Psychology
Head of School Prof Jane McGillivray
jane.mcgillivray@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46426 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Peter Enticott
peter.enticott@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45504 B
HDR Director (Doctor of Psychology) A/Prof Nicki Dowling
nicki.dowling@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45610 B
HDR Director Professor Amanda Wood
amanda.wood@deakin.edu.au
psychhdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 6740 B
Deputy HDR Director Dr Christian Hyde
psychhdr@deakin.edu.au
c.hyde@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46505 B
Professional Programs Officer (DPsych Programs) Ms Emma McPhee
psych-prof-programs@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78429 G

Faculty of Science Engineering and Built Environment

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Bernard Rolfe
bernard.rolfe@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72417 G
Faculty HDR Coordinator A/Prof Luis Afonso
luis.afonso@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33461 G
Manager, Research and Innovation Dr Lisa Dias
l.dias@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45972 B
Coordinator, HDR Support Ms Vicky Koo
v.koo@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68464 B
Administrative Officer Research Ms Barb McRitchie
barb.mcritchie@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72080 G

School of Architecture and Built  Environment
Head of School Prof Sarah McGann
s.mcgann@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72260 F
Associate Head of School (Research) Dr M. Reza Hosseini
reza.hosseini@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78394 F
HDR Coordinator Dr Dominic Doe Ahiaga-Dagbui
dominic.ahiagadagbui@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78074 F
HDR Coordinator Dr Sanja Rodes
sanja.rodes@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78442 F

School of Life and Environmental Sciences
Head of School Prof Marnie Campbell
marnie.campbell@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73712 B
Deputy Head of School Prof John Donald
john.donald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72097 G
Deputy Head of School A/Prof Lambert Brau
lambert.brau@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17055 B
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Xavier Conlan
xavier.conlan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71416 G
HDR Coordinator and School Research Training Coordinator Dr Tim Jessop
t.jessop@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73275 G
HDR Coordinator (Burwood) A/Prof Sharon La Fontaine
sharon.lafontaine@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17669 B
HDR Coordinator (Burwood) A/Prof Mark Guthridge
m.guthridge@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45796 B
HDR Coordinator (Warrnambool) Dr Adam Miller
a.miller@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33171 W
HDR Coordinator (Waurn Ponds) A/Prof Beata Ujvari
beata.ujvari@deakin.edu.au
N/A G
HDR Coordinator (International) Dr Aaron Schultz
aaron.schultz@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45433 G

School of Engineering
Head of School A/Prof Ben Horan
ben.horan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72907 G
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Mahmud Ashraf
mahmud.ashraf@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78450 G
Director, Research Training Dr Mahbube Subhani
mahbube.subhani@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71358 G
HDR Coordinator (Research Culture and Quality) A/Prof Wei Xu
wei.xu@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73064 G
HDR Coordinator (Administration and Governance) Dr Jorg Schluter
jorg.schluter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73382 G
HDR Administrator Kasey Lanyon
k.lanyon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46774 G

School of Information Technology
Head of School Prof John Yearwood
john.yearwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68727 B
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Richard Dazeley
richard.dazeley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78950 G
Academic Director, Research Training A/Prof Gang Li
gang.li@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17434 B
HDR Coordinator (International) Prof Jemal Abawajy
jemal.abawajy@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71376 G
HDR Student Support Coordinator (CSRI) Dr Frank Jiang
frank.jiang@deakin.edu.au 
+61 3 924 46677 B
HDR Student Support Coordinator (CITECORE) Dr Shiva Pokhrel
shiva.pokhrel@deakin.edu.au 
+61 3 924 46281 B
HDR Student Support Coordinator (D2I) Dr Ye Zhu
ye.zhu@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68039 B
HDR Student Support Coordinator (D2I) Dr Thuong Hoang
thuong.hoang@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68610 B

Research Institutes

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Institute for Frontier Materials (IFM)
Director Prof Matthew Barnett
matthew.barnett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72797 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Christopher Hurren
christopher.hurren@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72374 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Alessandra Sutti
alessandra.sutti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71156 G
HDR CoordinatorDr Claudia Creighton
claudia.creighton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72392G
HDR CoordinatorA/Prof Rangam Rajkhowa
rangam.rajkhowa@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73427G
HDR CoordinatorDr Thomas Dorin
thomas.dorin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71481G
Senior HDR Support Coordinator Ms Zoe Smith
z.smith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78993 G
HDR Administrative SupportMs Sarah Buckler
s.buckler@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78163G

Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation (IISRI)
Director, Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation Prof Saeid Nahavandi
saeid.nahavandi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71231 G
Associate Professor (Research) Prof Douglas Creighton
douglas.creighton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72179 G
Research Director Prof Chee Peng Lim
chee.lim@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73307 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Shady Mohammed
shady.mohamed@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72599 G

Applied Artificial Intelligence Institute (A2I2)
Co-Director Prof. Svetha Venkatesh
svetha.venkatesh@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72905 G
Co-Director Prof. Kon Mouzakis
kon.mouzakis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68041 B
Executive HDR Coordinator A/Prof. Santu Rana
santu.rana@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71253 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof. Sunil Gupta
sunil.gupta@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73109 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof. Truyen Tran
truyen.tran@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78744 G
HDR Coordinator Prof Rajesh Vasa
rajesh.vasa@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68060 B
HDR Support Coordinator Dr Trang Tran
trang.tran@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79383 G

NIKERI Institute

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Director Prof Liz Cameron
l.cameron@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79358 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof James Charles
james.charles@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78623 G
Last updated:
Page custodian: Deakin Research