HDR contacts

For all general enquiries, please contact the teams below via email.

Higher Degrees by Research International Research Training Partnerships Researcher Development and Training
Domestic (Admissions and enrolments)
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au

International (Admissions and enrolments)
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au

Scholarships
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au

Examinations
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au

For enquiries relating to:

  • International Research Training Partnership Development
  • In-Country programs
  • Joint PhD programs
  • Cotutelle programs

international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au

For enquiries relating to:

  • Student training
  • Supervisor training
  • Fast Track
  • Individual Learning Plan
  • Researcher development

research-training@deakin.edu.au

For enquiries relating to:

  • Confirmation of Candidature
  • Coursework
  • Conference attendance
  • Travel
Contact the faculty/institute administration teams

artsed-hdr@deakin.edu.au
blresearch@deakin.edu.au
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
sebe-phd@deakin.edu.au
ifm-hdr-admin@deakin.edu.au
For enquiries relating to:
Placements, internships and student mentoring

phdxtra@deakin.edu.au
For enquiries relating to areas not listed above:
Graduate Research Academy

gra@deakin.edu.au

Graduate Research Academy

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
GRA staff
Pro Vice-Chancellor Researcher Development Prof Matthew Clarke
matthew.clarke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43979 B
Program Enhancement Manager Ms Amanda Mayor
amanda.mayor@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71499 G
Project Officer Ms Robyn King
robyn.king@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73647 G
Career Pathways Officer Ms Brooke Cotton
brooke.cotton@deakin.edu.au
+61 522 73769 G
Senior Web Training Officer Ms Caitlin Dawes
caitlin.dawes@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78297 G

Deakin Research Training
Program Manager, Researcher Development Dr Daniela Kaleva
daniela.kaleva@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46058 B

Higher Degrees by Research
Candidature Manager, Higher Degrees Ms Alison Musgrove
alison.musgrove@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68473 B        
Senior HDR Adviser - Examinations and Annual Review Ms Kate Percival
kate.percival@deakin.edu.au
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71090 B
Senior HDR Adviser - International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Melissa Bao
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68296 B
HDR Adviser - International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Le Quan Dien
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46521 B
HDR Adviser - International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Tracey Flores
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46519 B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments Ms Aderyn Simon
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+613 924 45258 B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments (Mon, Tue, Thurs) Ms Indri James
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+613 924 45258 G
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Ms Sabina Khatri
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 5413 B
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Dr Prue Plummer
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 5413 B
HDR Adviser- Examinations Ms Bec Miller
bec.miller@deakin.edu.au
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45350 B

International Research Training
Manager of International Research Training Ms Helen Woodall
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72930 G
International Research Support Officer Ms Kimberley Cunningham
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73686 G

Faculty of Arts & Education

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Andrea Witcomb
andrea.witcomb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17232 B
Faculty HDR Coordinator Dr Andrew Skourdoumbis
andrew.skourdoumbis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46673 B
Senior HDR Adviser Ms Kylie Koulkoudinas
kylie.koulkoudinas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72368 G
Senior HDR Adviser Ms Lisa Morwood
lisa.morwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71254 G
HDR Administration Assistant Mrs Margaret McKay
margaret.mckay@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46825 B
HDR General enquiries artsed-hdr@deakin.edu.au N/A N/A

School of Education
Head of School Prof Damien Blake
damian.blake@deakin.edu.au
N/A G
Assoc Head of School (Research) Dr Louise Paatsch
louise.paatsch@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71457 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Trace Ollis
trace.ollis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71489 G

School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Head of School Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870 B
Associate Dean (Research) N/A N/A N/A
Associate Head Of School (Research) A/Prof Andrew Singleton
andrew.singleton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43980 B
HDR Coordinator Dr Maree Pardy
maree.pardy@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45163 B

School of Communication & Creative Arts
Associate Head Of School (Research) Dr Emily Potter
e.potter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46842 B
Head of School Mr Matthew Delbridge
hos-cca@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68482 TBA
HDR Coordinator Dr Toija Cinque
toija.cinque@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17470 B

Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation
HDR Coordinator

A/Prof Genevieve Pepin
genevieve.pepin@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 78462F
HDR Coordinator Dr Dara Conduit
dara.conduit@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68844 B
HDR Coordinator Dr Will Smith
will.smith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46558 B
HDR Coordinator

Dr Sherene Idriss
sherene.idriss@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 924 46925B
HDR Coordinator

Dr Sarah Hayes
s.hayes@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 924 46982

B

Faculty of Business & Law

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) A/Prof Joshua Newton 
j.newton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17830 B
Faculty HDR Director A/Prof Edward Podolski
edward.podolski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68358 B
Manager, Research Services Ms Bronwyn Kelly
bronwyn.kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72442
+61 3 522 71035
F
Coordinator, Research Services Mrs Elizabeth Fitzgerald
elizabeth.fitzgerald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46295 B
Senior Administrative Officer Ms Katrina Fleming
blethics@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73362 F
Research Administrative Officer Mrs Gloria Stevenson
gloria.stevenson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72566
+61 3 522 72151
G
Research Administrative Officer Julie Asquith
julie.asquith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46628 B
Research Administrative Officer Ms Lee-Ann Stones
lee-ann.stones@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72390 F
Research Administrative Officer Ms Vilia Dukas
vilia.dukas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46564 B
General enquiries buslaw research
bl-phd@deakin.edu.au
N/A B & F

Deakin Business School
Department of Accounting
Head of Department Prof Peter Carey
p.carey@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46267 B
Director of Research Prof George Tanewski
g.tanewski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17230 B
Deputy Director of Research A/Prof Karen Lai
karen.lai@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68650 B
Director of HDR Dr Arifur Khan
arifur.khan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46857 B

Department of Economics
Head of Department Prof Mehmet Ulubasoglu
mehmet.ulubasoglu@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46592 B
Director of Research A/Prof Ching-Jen Sun
ching-jen.sun@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46470 B
Director of HDR Dr Francesco Carli
francesco.carli@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17040 B

Department of Finance
Head of Department Prof Xiangkang Yin
xiang.yin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45075 B
Director of Research Dr Mike Mao
mike.mao@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46574 B
Director of HDR Dr Saikat Sovan Deb
saikat.deb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17745 B

Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics
Head of Department Prof Rens Scheepers
rens.scheepers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46568

B

Director of Research and HDR Dr Lemai Nguyen
lemai.nguyen@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46556 B

Department of Management
Head of Department Prof Amanda Pyman
amanda.pyman@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46170 B
Director of Research Prof Andrew Noblet
andrew.noblet@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45076 B
Director of HDR Dr Ambika Zutshi
ambika.zutshi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46678 B

Department of Marketing
Head of Department, Marketing Prof Andre Bonfrer
andre.bonfrer@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68475 B
Director of Research Prof Michael Polonsky
michael.polonsky@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46968 B
Director of HDR Dr Nichola Robertson
nichola.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45069 B

Deakin Law School
Dean of Law, Head of the Deakin Law School Dr Jenni Lightowlers
j.lightowlers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46003 B
Director of Research Prof Dan Meagher
d.meagher@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78583 G
Deputy Director of Research Dr Nicole Siller 
n.siller@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68281 B
Director of HDR Dr Shiri Krebs
s.krebs@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68921 B

Faculty of Health

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Trish Livingston
trish.livingston@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46609 B
Faculty HDR Coordinator Dr. Kathryn Aston-Mourney
k.astonmourney@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72977 G
Research Manager Mr Steven Sawyer
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17175 B
HDR Support Coordinator Ms Katharine Smith
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46901 B
HDR Support Officer

Ms Rheanne Hogema
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 72564G
HDR Support Officer Mrs Debbie Evans
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72995 G

School of Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Head of School Prof David Crawford
david.crawford@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46616 B
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Glenn Wadley
glenn.wadley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46018 B
HDR Coordinator Prof Anna Timperio
anna.timperio@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17244 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator Prof Tony Worsley
anthony.worsley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46743 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator A/Prof Robert Shellie
robert.shellie@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45233B
Deputy HDR CoordinatorDr Severine Lamon
severine.lamon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 4557B

School of Health and Social Development
Head of School Prof Colin Bell
colin.bell@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78043 G
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Jo Williams
jo.williams@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17203 B
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Samantha Thomas
samantha.thomas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45453 B
HDR Coordinator Dr Kim Robinson
kim.robinson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78205 F

School of Nursing and Midwifery
Interim Head of School Prof Nikki Phillips
nikki.phillips@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 925 17774

B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Elizabeth Manias
emanias@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46958 B
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Pat Nicholson
p.nicholson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46114 B

School of Medicine
Acting Head of School Prof Karen Dwyer
karen.dwyer@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71421 G
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Alister Ward
alister.ward@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72041 G
HDR Coordinator

Prof. John Stambas
john.stambas@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 72487 G
HDR CoordinatorA/Prof Veer Gupta veer.gupta@deakin.edu.au+61 3 522 73008G
HDR Coordinator Dr Kevin Mc Namara
kevin.mcnamara@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79472 Geelong (Barwon Health)
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Julia Pitcher
julia.pitcher@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73661 Geelong (Barwon Health)

School of Psychology
Head of School Prof Jane McGillivray
jane.mcgillivray@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46426 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Peter Enticott
peter.enticott@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45504 B
HDR Coordinator (DPsych) Dr. George Youssef
george.youssef@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17834 B
HDR Coordinator Professor Amanda Wood
amanda.wood@deakin.edu.au
psychhdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 6740 B
Deputy HDR CoordinatorDr Christian Hyde
psychhdr@deakin.edu.au
c.hyde@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46505B
Professional Programs Officer (DPsych Programs) Ms Claire Netherway
psych-prof-programs@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46345 B

Faculty of Science Engineering and Built Environment

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Giovanni Turchini
giovanni.turchini@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33312 B
Faculty HDR Coordinator A/Prof Peter Beech
peter.beech@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17434 B
Manager, Research and Innovation Dr Lisa Dias
l.dias@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45972 B
Coordinator, HDR Support Ms Vicky Koo
vicky.koo@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68464 B
Administrative Officer Research Ms Barb McRitchie
barb.mcritchie@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72080 G

School of Architecture and Built  Environment
Head of School Prof Anthony Mills
anthony.mills@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78311 F
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Richard Tucker
richard.tucker@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78308 F
HDR Coordinator Dr Dominic Doe Ahiaga-Dagbui
dominic.ahiagadagbui@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78074 F
HDR Coordinator Dr Akari Nakai Kidd
akari.nakaikidd@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79433 F

School of Life and Environmental Sciences
Head of School Prof Chris Austin
c.austin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68383 B
Deputy Head of School Prof John Donald
john.donald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72097 G
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Xavier Conlan
xavier.conlan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71416 G
HDR Coordinator and School Research Training Coordinator Dr Tim Jessop
t.jessop@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73275 G
HDR Coordinator (Burwood) A/Prof Sharon La Fontaine
sharon.lafontaine@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17669 B
HDR Coordinator (Burwood)A/Prof Mark Guthridge
m.guthridge@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45796B
HDR Coordinator (Warrnambool) Dr Adam Miller
a.miller@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33171 W
HDR Coordinator (Waurn Ponds)A/Prof Beata Ujvari
beata.ujvari@deakin.edu.au
N/AG
HDR Coordinator (International) Dr Aaron Schultz
aaron.schultz@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45433 G

School of Engineering
Head of School Prof Aman Maung Than Oo
aman.m@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79216 G
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Ben Horan
ben.horan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72907 G
HDR Coordinator (Research Culture and Quality) A/Prof Mahmud Ashraf
mahmud.ashraf@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78450 G
HDR Coordinator (Administration and Governance) Dr Jorg Schluter
jorg.schluter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73382 G
HDR Administrator Sarah Carter
sarah.carter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 52273439 G

School of Information Technology
Head of School Prof John Yearwood
john.yearwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68727 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Antonio Robles-Kelly
antonio.robles-kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73044 G
HDR Coordinator (Burwood) Prof Maia Angelova Turkedjieva
maia.a@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68756 B
HDR Coordinator (Burwood)A/Prof Gang Li
gang.li@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17434B
HDR Coordinator (Waurn Ponds) Dr Shang Gao
shang.gao@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71383 G
HDR Coordinator (International)Prof Jemal Abawajy
jemal.abawajy@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71376G
HDR Support (Burwood) Dr Frank Jiang
frank.jiang@deakin.edu.au 
+61 3 924 46677 B
HDR Support (Burwood) Dr Rolando Trujillo Rasva
rolando.trujillo@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68081 B
HDR Support (Waurn Ponds) Dr Mengmeng Ge
mengmeng.ge@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73078 G
HDR Support (Waurn Ponds)Dr Xuequan Lu
xuequan.lu@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73561G

Research Institutes

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Institute for Frontier Materials
Director Prof Matthew Barnett
matthew.barnett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72797 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Luke O'Dell
luke.odell@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73076 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Christopher Hurren
christopher.hurren@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72374 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Alessandra Sutti
alessandra.sutti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71156 G
HDR Support Coordinator Mrs Megan McManus
m.mcmanus@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73099 G

Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation
Director, Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation Prof Saeid Nahavandi
saeid.nahavandi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71231 G
Associate Professor (Research) Prof Douglas Creighton
douglas.creighton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72179 G
Research Director Prof Chee Peng Lim
chee.lim@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73307 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Asim Bhatti
asim.bhatti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72548 G

Applied Artificial Intelligence Institute (A2I2)
Co-Director Prof. Svetha Venkatesh
svetha.venkatesh@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72905 G
Co-Director Prof. Kon Mouzakis
kon.mouzakis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68041 B
Executive HDR Coordinator A/Prof. Santu Rana
santu.rana@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71253 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof. Sunil Gupta
sunil.gupta@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73109 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof. Truyen Tran
truyen.tran@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78744 G
HDR Coordinator Prof Rajesh Vasa
rajesh.vasa@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68060 B
HDR Support Coordinator Dr Trang Tran
trang.tran@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79383 G

Institute of NIKERI

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Director Prof Liz Cameron
l.cameron@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79358 G
+61 3 522 78623 A/Prof James Charles
james.charles@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 78623

G
Last updated:
Page custodian: Deakin Research