HDR contacts

Graduate Research Academy

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
GRA staff
Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research Development and Integrity Prof Aaron Russell
pvc-rdi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17397 B
Director, Graduate Research AcademyDr Georgina Kelly
georgie.kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46194B
Executive Assistant, Research Integrity & Human Ethics Ms Stacey Loukas
stacey.loukas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68268 B
Executive Officer, HDR Mr Grant Michie
grant.michie@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17196 B
Program Enhancement Manager Mrs Amanda Mayor
amanda.mayor@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71499 G
Project Officer Ms Fadzai Sanjeev
f.sanjeev@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78124 G

Higher Degrees by Research
Candidature Manager, Higher Degrees Ms Rheanne Hogema
rheanne.hogema@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72564 G
Senior HDR Adviser - Examinations and Annual Review (On leave until Sep 2019) Ms Kate Percival
kate.percival@deakin.edu.au
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71090 B
Senior HDR Adviser - Examinations and Annual ReviewMs Jo Ryan
jo.ryan@deakin.edu.au
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 73033

G
Senior HDR Adviser- International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Melissa Bao
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68296 B
HDR Adviser- International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Vicky Koo
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68464 B
HDR Adviser- International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Tracey Flores
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46519 B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments Ms Aderyn Simon
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+613 924 45258B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments (Mon, Tue, Thurs) Ms Indri James
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+613 924 45258 G
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Ms Sabina Khatri
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 5413 B
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Dr Prue Plummer
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 9244 5413 B

International Research Training
Director of International Research Training A/Prof Luis Afonso
luis.afonso@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33461 G
International Research Support Coordinator Ms Eva Filipiak
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78977 G
International Research Support Officer Ms Kate Hecimovic
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73145 G

Deakin Research Training
Research Training Officer Ms Brona O'Brien
research-training@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17339 B

Faculty of Arts & Education

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870 B
Faculty HDR Coordinator A/Prof Andrea Gallant
andrea.gallant@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46430 B
Senior HDR Adviser Mrs Robyn Ficnerski
robyn.ficnerski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72226 G
Senior HDR Adviser Ms Lisa Morwood
lisa.morwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71254 G
HDR Administration Assistant Mrs Margaret McKay
margaret.mckay@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46825 B

School of Education
Head of School Prof Christine Ure
c.ure@deakin.edu.au
N/A B
Assoc Head of School (Research) Dr Louise Paatsch
louise.paatsch@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71457 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Amanda Mooney
amanda.mooney@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73285 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Andrew Skourdoumbis
andrew.skourdoumbis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46673 B

School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Head of School Prof Matthew Clarke
matthew.clarke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43979 B
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870 B
Associate Head Of School (Research) A/Prof Andrew Singleton
andrew.singleton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43980 B
HDR Coordinator Dr George Duke
george.duke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17848 B

School of Communication & Creative Arts
Associate Head Of School (Research) Dr Emily Potter
e.potter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46842 B
Head of School Prof Matthew Allen
hos-cca@deakin.edu.au
N/A B
HDR Coordinator Dr Patrick West
patrick.west@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43953 B
HDR CoordinatorDr Helen Young
helen.young@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46289B

Faculty of Business & Law

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) A/Prof Joshua Newton 
j.newton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17830 B
Faculty HDR Director A/Prof Edward Podolski
edward.podolski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68358B
Manager, Research Services Ms Bronwyn Kelly
bronwyn.kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72442
+61 3 522 71035
F
Coordinator, Research Services Mrs Elizabeth Fitzgerald
elizabeth.fitzgerald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46295 B
Senior Administrative Officer Ms Katrina Fleming
blethics@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73362 F
Research Administrative Officer Mrs Gloria Stevenson
gloria.stevenson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72566
+61 3 522 72151
G
Research Administrative Officer Julie Asquith
julie.asquith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46628 B
Research Administrative Officer Ms Lee-Ann Stones
lee-ann.stones@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72390 F
Research Administrative Officer Ms Vilia Dukas
vilia.dukas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46564 B
General enquiries buslaw research
bl-phd@deakin.edu.au
N/A B & F

Deakin Business School
Department of Accounting
Head of Department Prof Peter Carey
p.carey@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46267 B
Director of Research Prof George Tanewski
g.tanewski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17230 B
Deputy Director of ResearchA/Prof Karen Lai
karen.lai@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68650B
Director of HDR Dr Arifur Khan
arifur.khan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46857 B

Department of Economics
Head of Department Prof Pasquale Sgro
pasquale.sgro@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45245 B
Director of Research A/Prof Debdulal Mallick
debdulal.mallick@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17808 B
Director of HDR Dr Aaron Nicholas
aaron.nicholas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45120 B

Department of Finance
Head of Department Prof Chien-Ting Lin
chienting.lin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46782 B
Director of ResearchDr Mike Mao
mike.mao@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46574 B
Director of HDRDr Saikat Sovan Deb
saikat.deb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17745B

Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics
Head of Department Prof Rens Scheepers
rens.scheepers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46568

B

Director of Research and HDR Dr Lemai Nguyen
lemai.nguyen@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46556 B

Department of Management
Head of Department Prof Amanda Pyman
amanda.pyman@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46170 B
Director of Research Prof Andrew Noblet
andrew.noblet@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45076 B
Director of HDRDr Ambika Zutshi
ambika.zutshi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46678B

Department of Marketing
Head of Department, Marketing Prof Andre Bonfrer
andre.bonfrer@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68475 B
Director of Research Prof Michael Polonsky
michael.polonsky@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46968 B
Director of HDR Dr Nichola Robertson
nichola.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45069 B

Deakin Law School
Dean of Law, Head of the Deakin Law School Dr Jenni Lightowlers
j.lightowlers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46003 B
Director of ResearchProf Dan Meagher
d.meagher@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78583G
Deputy Director of Research Dr Nicole Siller 
n.siller@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68281 B
Director of HDR Dr Shiri Krebs
s.krebs@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68921 B

Faculty of Health

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Trish Livingston
trish.livingston@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46609 B
Faculty HDR Coordinator A/Prof Antonina Mikocka-Walus
antonina.mikockawalus@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68575 B
Research Manager Mr Steven Sawyer
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17175 B
HDR Support Coordinator Ms Katharine Smith
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46901 B
HDR Support Officer Mrs Debbie Evans
health-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72995 G

School of Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Head of School Prof David Crawford
david.crawford@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46616 B
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Glenn Wadley
glenn.wadley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46018 B
HDR Coordinator Prof Anna Timperio
anna.timperio@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17244 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator A/Prof Kylie Hesketh
kylie.hesketh@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46812 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator A/Prof Daniel Belavy
d.belavy@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46606 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator Dr Severine Lamon
severine.lamon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45571 B

School of Health and Social Development
Head of School Prof Catherine Bennett
catherine.bennett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46149 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Jo Williams
jo.williams@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17203 B
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Samantha Thomas
samantha.thomas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45453 B
HDR Coordinator Dr Claire Henderson-Wilson
claire.henderson-wilson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17268 B

School of Nursing and Midwifery
Interim Head of School Prof Nikki Phillips
nikki.phillips@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 925 17774

B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Elizabeth Manias
emanias@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46958 B
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Pat Nicholson
p.nicholson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46114 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator Dr Stephane Bouchoucha
s.bouchoucha@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17429 B

School of Medicine
Head of School Prof Jon Watson
j.watson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71275 G
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Alister Ward
alister.ward@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72041 G
HDR Coordinator

Dr Kathryn Aston-Mourney
k.astonmourney@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 72977 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Kevin Mc Namara
kevin.mcnamara@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79472 Geelong (Barwon Health)

School of Psychology
Head of School Prof Jane McGillivray
jane.mcgillivray@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46426 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Peter Enticott
peter.enticott@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45504 B
HDR Coordinator (DPsych) A/Prof Nicki Dowling
nicki.dowling@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45610 B
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Emma Scibberas
emma.sciberras@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68575 B
Professional Programs Officer (DPsych Programs) Ms Claire Netherway
psych-prof-programs@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46345 B

Faculty of Science Engineering and Built Environment

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research)Prof Giovanni Turchini
giovanni.turchini@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33312B
Faculty HDR CoordinatorA/Prof Gang Li
gang.li@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17434B
Manager, Research and InnovationDr Anne Drake
anne.drake@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72826G
Administrative Officer ResearchMs Barb Robertson
barb.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72080G
HDR AdministratorTBATBATBA

School of Architecture and Built  Environment
Head of SchoolProf Anthony Mills
anthony.mills@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78311F
Associate Head of School (Research)A/Prof Richard Tucker
richard.tucker@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78308F
HDR CoordinatorDr Dominic Doe Ahiaga-Dagbui
dominic.ahiagadagbui@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78074F
HDR CoordinatorDr Akari Nakai Kidd
akari.nakaikidd@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79433F

School of Life and Environmental Sciences
Head of SchoolProf Chris Austin
c.austin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68383B
Deputy Head of SchoolProf John Donald
john.donald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72097G
Associate Head of School (Research)A/Prof Xavier Conlan
xavier.conlan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71416G
School Research Training CoordinatorDr Tim Jessop
t.jessop@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73275G
HDR Coordinator (Burwood)A/Prof Sharon La Fontaine
sharon.lafontaine@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17669B
HDR Coordinator (Warrnambool)Dr Adam Miller
a.miller@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33171W
HDR Coordinator (Cloud)Dr Aaron Schultz
aaron.schultz@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45433G

School of Engineering
Head of SchoolProf Aman Maung Than Oo
aman.m@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79216G
Associate Head of School (Research)A/Prof Ben Horan
ben.horan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72907G
HDR Director (Research Culture and Quality)Dr Riyadh Al-Ameri
r.alameri@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72397G
HDR Director (Administration and Governance)Dr Enamul Haque
enamul.haque@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71206G
HDR AdministratorSarah Carter
sarah.carter@deakin.edu.au  
+61 3 52273439G

School of Information Technology
Head of SchoolProf John Yearwood
john.yearwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68727B
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Antonio Robles-Kelly
antonio.robles-kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73044G
HDR Coordinator (Burwood)Prof Maia Angelova Turkedjieva
maia.a@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68756B
HDR Coordinator (Waurn Ponds)Dr Shang Gao
shang.gao@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71383G

GTP Research

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Director Prof Xungai Wang
xungai.wang@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72894 G

Institute for Frontier Materials
Director Prof Matthew Barnett
matthew.barnett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72797 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Luke O'Dell
luke.odell@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73076 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Christopher Hurren
christopher.hurren@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72374 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Alessandra Sutti
alessandra.sutti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71156 G
HDR Support Coordinator Mrs Helen Woodall
helen.woodall@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72930 G
HDR Administrative Support Ms Tamara Forbes
tamara.forbes@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78804 G

Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation
Director, Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation Prof Saeid Nahavandi
saeid.nahavandi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71231 G
Associate Professor (Research) Prof Douglas Creighton
douglas.creighton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72179 G
Research Director Prof Chee Peng Lim
chee.lim@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73307 G
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Asim Bhatti
asim.bhatti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72548 G

Institute of Koorie Education

Position Contact Telephone Campus
Director Prof Liz Cameron
l.cameron@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79358 G
HDR CoordinatorProf Tarquam McKenna
t.mckenna@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 52278694

G
Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: