Bowater Trust Medal

Each year high-achieving students are invited to apply for the prestigious Bowater Trust Medal. Finalists are interviewed and the winner is selected by a panel including a representative of the Bowater Trust.

Formerly known as the Bowater Medal and HS Archdall Medal, the Bowater Trust Medal is awarded annually to a Deakin Business School graduate who is considered to be the best all-round undergraduate student on the basis of academic merit, extra curricular activities and ambassadorial qualities.

Deakin Business School, in consultation with the Bowater Trust, shortlists the School's highest achieving graduates, who are then invited to make a submission to a panel comprised of Deakin Business School academic staff and a Bowater Trust representative. Final selection of the 'Deakin Business School Graduate of the Year' is made after an interview process.

Past Winner Profile

Brad Underhill

Brad Underhill - Bowater Trust Medallist 2017

Brad completed a Bachelor of Arts/ Bachelor of Commerce double degree in 2016 achieving a high distinction average with majors in History, Australian Studies and Economics. Read more...

During his time at Deakin, Brad was highly engaged as an academic mentor, member of the Deakin Commerce Students’ Society and finalist of the nation-wide university competition, The Big Idea 2014.

He is immensely committed to increasing social wellbeing and actively supports several not-for-profit organisations as board member and volunteer camp leader for Licola Wilderness Village, volunteer youth mentor for Whitelion, and secretary of the Vermont Lions Club which serve to support disadvantaged sections of the community.

As he currently completes an Honours thesis on the co-operative movement in Papua New Guinea and its contribution to their rapid economic and social changes in the post-war period, Brad’s passion for public policy, social obligation and economic debate surrounding equality of opportunity continues to grow.

Bowater Trust Medal honour board

The Bowater Trust Medal has been awarded each year since 1998. In earlier years it was called the Archdall Medal, then the Bowater Medal.

We are very proud of the academic achievements of these students, chosen as ambassadors for the Deakin Business School.

2021 Joshua Ball
2020 Simon O'Loughlin
2019 Emma Black and Catherine Mason
2018 Chelsey Taylor
2017 Brad Underhill
2016 Courtney Dufty and Benjamin O'Sullivan
2015 Ellen Crocker and Steffan Irugalbandara
2014 Amy Bilton and Melissa Cameron
2013 Stephanie Moloney
2012 Rachel Krasky
2011 Hannah Macdougall
2010 Lakmini de Silva
2009 Jenelle Morton
2008 Naomi MacLean
2007 Stephen Evans
2006 Arwen Tisch
2005 Rachel Jones
2004 Catherine Prior

2003 Lisa Humphries
2002 Peter Cullinan
2001 Robert Richard
2000 Chin Tee Tan
1999 Jenny Smallwood
1998 Larelle Woods and Lucy Kardas
1997 Jodie Black
1996 Sandra Hillas Wilcox
1995 Todd Bryers
1994 Janis Wells
1993 Kerryn Mansell
1992 Robert Argieri
1991 Elizabeth Hunger
1990 Clare Walker
1989 Merrilyn Hotchkin
1988 Lydia Borrino

Bowater Trust

This public trust was established in 1988 with an endowment by the Bowater Corporation of Australia Limited of $250,000. The Trust is also supported by public donation. Under the terms of the Trust, annual income from the Trust funds may be used (by Deakin Business School staff only) for a variety of purposes such as seminars, lectures and conferences, research projects, published reports, equipment and facilities and activities which may not be possible under normal funding provisions.

The Trustees are:

  • Ms Alison Holden
  • Emeritus Professor Peter Juliff
  • Emeritus Professor Darrell Mahoney
  • Professor Amanda Pyman
  • Mr Kean Selway (Chair)
  • Mr Kevin Thomas
  • Dr Wendy Webber

Secretary: Mr Jin Nguyen

Some recent projects supported by the Bowater Trust include:

  • Research Trimester grants for staff
  • Social Entrepreneurship Challenge
  • Study of corporate social responsibility in professional sport $5,800
  • Study of social sustainability in housing markets $5,912
  • Increasing investment in sustainability in the built environment $12,000
  • Deakin Bowater Trust Outstanding (Staff) Contributor Prize $2,000
  • The Bowater Trust Medal $5,000: The Bowater Medal is awarded each year to the Deakin Business School deemed to be most deserving of the title "Bowater Graduate of the Year".
Last updated:
Page custodian: Faculty of Business & Law