Student Complaints

We hope you find your time at Deakin to be enjoyable and rewarding. However, if you're unhappy about something at Deakin, you can:

If you feel unsafe or threatened because of the way someone at Deakin is behaving or have experienced sexual harm, please contact Safer Community.

If you are on campus and need an immediate response, call Deakin Security on 1800 062 579.

Resolving your concern

You may be able to resolve your concern by contacting the responsible person or area, or by contacting the following people:

Note that assessment issues are normally handled by the faculties under the Assessment (Higher Education Courses) or Academic Progress procedures.

Two people sitting by a laptop

Complaints contact

Faculties and Schools

Area Complaints ContactEmailPhone

Faculty of Arts and Education

  Heather Rose

execdean-ae@deakin.edu.au

924 46940
  Sumita Verma artsed-cpl@deakin.edu.au 925 17332

Faculty of Business and Law

 

Cathryn Bunney (all campuses - escalation)

bl-se@deakin.edu.au 924 46899
  John Dean (Burwood) buslaw@deakin.edu.au 924 45144
  Jo Wilson (Geelong) buslaw@deakin.edu.au 522 72505
  Bronwyn Kelly (Higher Degrees by Research) blresearch@deakin.edu.au 522 72442

Faculty of Health

  Shufen Lin, Student Experience Manager

shufen.lin@deakin.edu.au

924 68030

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

  Niki Calastas

sebe-api@deakin.edu.au

924 46943
 Kaylene Gunston

sebe-api@deakin.edu.au

924 46943

NIKERI Institute

  Natasha Rossington natasha.rossington@deakin.edu.au 522 71181

DUELI

  Giles Mccabegiles.mccabe@deakin.edu.au 924 45425
  Jennifer Hsu jennifer.hsu@deakin.edu.au 924 46142

Administration and Services

Issue Designated Complaints Contact:
Admission Domestic students: Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 5227 3385

International students: Ping Khoo
ping.khoo@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 45211                
Building maintenance

To report maintenance issues:

Cleaning
Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531
Customer service - Student Central Jodie Aanensen
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 68106
Enrolment and re-enrolment processes

Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73385

Examinations Michael Tuckley
Email: m.tuckley@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68003
Facilities
Sue Kulinski
Email: sue.kulinski@deakn.edu.au
Ph:  522 73376
If you are on campus and need an immediate response, call Security 1800 062 579. In an emergency, call 000 (add a zero if calling from an internal phone), then call Security.
Fees, student finances and refunds Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Finance  
Food services Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531
Grounds maintenance
Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531
Information technology

Hayley Grey
Email: hayley.grey@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 524 79594

Library
Director, Client Services - Clare Carlsson
Email: c.carlsson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 925 17180
Burwood - Kim Phu
Email: kim.phu@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 925 17017
Geelong Waurn Ponds - Fiona Russell
Email: f.russell@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72713
Geelong Waterfront - Sabina Robertson
Email: sabina.robertson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 46662
Parking
Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531
Residences
Burwood: Yonna Cowan
Email: y.cowan@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 9246 8701
Geelong: Marion Bailey
Email: marion.bayley@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73453
Warrnambool: Gabrielle Tobin
Email: gabrielle.tobin@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 556 33380
Scholarships Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Security
Phone (free call) 1800 062 579
Complaints Contact: Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531
Student administration
Ross Hagland - Assessment and Result issues
Email: ross.hagland@deakin.edu.au
Ph:  924 46005
Kaine Leonard - Graduation issues
Email: kaine.leonard@deakin.edu.au
Ph. 522 73422
Cathy Gutierrez - Admission and Enrolment issues
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 5227 73385
Pamela Pritchard - Fee and scholarship issues
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Jodie Aanensen - Customer Service issues
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68106
Student support services Salli Bruce
Email: salli.bruce@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 7115959
Study overseas  
Visa issues and CoE reporting Clare Wilson
Email: clare.wilson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 9244 5091

Making a complaint

If your concerns remain unresolved after contacting the responsible person or area, you can escalate your concerns to Student Complaints. You can do this by completing the Student Complaints Form. This form can also be used to ask questions about the student complaints process.

We will address your concerns using the Student Complaints Resolution policy and procedure.

Hands holding a phone, person reading from the screen

Reviewing your complaint outcome

If you are dissatisfied with your complaint outcome, and can demonstrate that you have grounds for review, you can request  a review of your complaint outcome within 20 working days of the date of the complaint outcome.

Your outcome letter will contain a link for you to submit your request for review, available for 20 working days after the date of the complaint outcome. If you have questions about the process or would like to talk to a Student Complaints Officer please email studentcomplaints@deakin.edu.au

If, after receiving a final University decision in the Review process, you remain dissatisfied, you can seek an external review on procedural grounds by the Victorian Ombudsman.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Office of the DVC (Education)