Student Complaints

We hope you find your time at Deakin to be enjoyable and rewarding. However, if you're unhappy about something at Deakin, there are various ways you can let us know.

Provide feedback

We value your feedback. Feedback, both positive and negative, is information you think the University can use to improve the student experience. If you have something to share about your student experience, and you are not seeking a specific outcome, you can provide feedback via DeakinSync.

Talk to the person or area responsible

We encourage you, where appropriate, to resolve problems directly with the person or area responsible. Here is a list of contacts to assist you:

Contacts

Issue/Area Designated Complaints Contact:
Admissions International

Email: deakin-int-admissions@deakin.edu.au

Domestic and RPL
Email:domestic-admissions@deakin.edu.au

Building maintenance

To report maintenance issues:

Cleaning

Spiro Fatouros
Email: spiro.fatouros@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71390

Customer service - Student Central Jodie Aanensen
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 68896
Disability Resource Centre Steve Morgan
Email: steven.morgan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71427
DUELI

Jennifer Hsu
Email: jennifer.hsu@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 46142

Enrolment and re-enrolment processes

Andrea Robinson
Email: andrea.robinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72822

Examinations Ross Hagland
Email: ross.hagland@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 46005
Fees, student finances and refunds Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Food services
Chris Livaditis
Email: chris.livaditis@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68706
Graduations Email: graduations@deakin.edu.au
Ph. 522 72968
Grounds maintenance
Luke Primus
Email: luke.primus@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71404
IT Customer Services

Hayley Grey
Email: hayley.grey@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 524 79594

Library
Director, Client Services - Clare Carlsson
Email: c.carlsson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 925 17180
Burwood - Kim Phu
Email: kim.phu@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 925 17017
Geelong Waurn Ponds - Fiona Russell
Email: f.russell@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72713
Geelong Waterfront - Sabina Robertson
Email: sabina.robertson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 46662
NIKERI Institute

Natasha Rossington
Email: natasha.rossington@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71181

Parking
Wendy Meesen
Email: parking@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71011
Residences
Burwood and Geelong: Marion Bailey
Email: marion.bayley@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73453
Warrnambool: Gabrielle Tobin
Email: gabrielle.tobin@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 556 33380
ResultsRefer to the Review of Results process
Scholarships Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Security
Michael Gillard
Email: michael.gillard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72770
Units of StudyContact your Unit Chair. Details are available in the Unit Guide (in CloudDeakin) or the Handbook.

Harassment and discrimination contact officers (HDCOs)

HDCOs volunteer and are trained to provide confidential information and support to staff and students with concerns relating to discrimination, harassment, bullying, vilification and victimisation.

Staff and students can select any HDCO from the network list and contact them by email or phone. Staff and students are welcome to choose a HDCO from their immediate work or study area. Alternatively, they can select a HDCO who is further removed from their area if they prefer.

Remember

If you feel unsafe or threatened because of the way someone at Deakin is behaving but do not require immediate assistance, please contact Safer Community. Safer Community can also support you if you have experienced sexual harm.

If you would like to report a student’s behaviour you can report this to Student Conduct.

Two people sitting by a laptop

Making a complaint

If your concerns remain unresolved after contacting the responsible person or area, you can escalate your concerns to Student Complaints. You can do this by completing the Student Complaints Form. This form can also be used to ask questions about the student complaints process. You can also seek assistance with this process by contacting a Deakin University Student Association advocate.

We will address your concerns using the Student Complaints Resolution policy and procedure.

Hands holding a phone, person reading from the screen

If, after receiving a final University decision you remain dissatisfied, you can seek an external review of your complaint outcome by the Victorian Ombudsman.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Office of the Dean of Students