Student Complaints

We hope you find your time at Deakin to be enjoyable and rewarding. However, if you're unhappy about something at Deakin, there are various ways you can let us know.

Provide feedback

We value your feedback. Feedback, both positive and negative, is information you think the University can use to improve the student experience. If you have something to share about your student experience, and you are not seeking a specific outcome, you can provide feedback via DeakinSync.

Talk to the person or area responsible

We encourage you, where appropriate, to resolve problems directly with the person or area responsible. Here is a list of contacts to assist you:

Academic contacts

Results
Refer to the Review of Results process.

Units of study
Contact your Unit Chair

Area Complaints ContactEmailPhone

Faculty of Arts and Education

  Heather Rose

execdean-ae@deakin.edu.au

924 46940
  Sumita Verma artsed-cpl@deakin.edu.au 925 17332

Faculty of Business and Law

 

Cathryn Bunney (all campuses - escalation)

bl-se@deakin.edu.au 924 46899
  John Dean (Burwood) buslaw@deakin.edu.au 924 45144
  Jo Wilson (Geelong) buslaw@deakin.edu.au 522 72505
  Bronwyn Kelly (Higher Degrees by Research) blresearch@deakin.edu.au 522 72442

Faculty of Health

  Shufen Lin, Student Experience Manager

shufen.lin@deakin.edu.au

924 68030

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

  Niki Calastas

sebe-api@deakin.edu.au

924 46943
  Kaylene Gunston

sebe-api@deakin.edu.au

924 46943

NIKERI Institute

  Natasha Rossington natasha.rossington@deakin.edu.au 522 71181

DUELI

  Giles Mccabe giles.mccabe@deakin.edu.au 924 45425
  Jennifer Hsu jennifer.hsu@deakin.edu.au 924 46142

Non academic contacts

Issue/Area Designated Complaints Contact:
Admissions

Domestic students: Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 5227 3385

International students: Sada Memic
Email: sada.memic@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 925 17086

Building maintenance

To report maintenance issues:

Cleaning
Claire Heazlewood
Email: claire.heazlewood@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78121
Customer service - Student Central Jodie Aanensen
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 68106
Disability Resource Centre

Merrin McCracken
Email: merrin.mccracken@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78421

Enrolment and re-enrolment processes

Andrea Robinson
Email: andrea.robinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72822

Examinations Michael Tuckley
Email: m.tuckley@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68003
Facilities
Sue Kulinski
Email: sue.kulinski@deakn.edu.au
Ph:  522 73376
Fees, student finances and refunds Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Food services
Claire Heazlewood
Email: claire.heazlewood@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78121
Grounds maintenance
Claire Heazlewood
Email: claire.heazlewood@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78121
Information technology

Hayley Grey
Email: hayley.grey@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 524 79594

Library
Director, Client Services - Clare Carlsson
Email: c.carlsson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 925 17180
Burwood - Kim Phu
Email: kim.phu@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 925 17017
Geelong Waurn Ponds - Fiona Russell
Email: f.russell@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72713
Geelong Waterfront - Sabina Robertson
Email: sabina.robertson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 46662
Parking
Claire Heazlewood
Email: claire.heazlewood@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78121
Residences
Burwood: Yonna Cowan
Email: y.cowan@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 9246 8701
Geelong: Marion Bailey
Email: marion.bayley@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73453
Warrnambool: Gabrielle Tobin
Email: gabrielle.tobin@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 556 33380
Scholarships Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Security
Claire Heazlewood
Email: claire.heazlewood@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78121
Student administration
Michael Tuckley - Assessment and result issues
Email: m.tuckley@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68003
Kaine Leonard - Graduation issues
Email: kaine.leonard@deakin.edu.au
Ph. 522 73422
Andrea Robinson - Enrolment issues
Email: andrea.robinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72822
Cathy Gutierrez - Admission issues
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 5227 73385
Pamela Pritchard - Fee and scholarship issues
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Jodie Aanensen - Customer Service issues
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68106
Student support services Salli Bruce
Email: salli.bruce@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 7115959
Visa issues and CoE reporting Clare Wilson
Email: clare.wilson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 9244 5091

Remember

If you feel unsafe or threatened because of the way someone at Deakin is behaving but do not require immediate assistance, please contact Safer Community. Safer Community can also support you if you have experienced sexual harm.

If you would like to report a student’s behaviour you can report this to Student Conduct.

Two people sitting by a laptop

Making a complaint

If your concerns remain unresolved after contacting the responsible person or area, you can escalate your concerns to Student Complaints. You can do this by completing the Student Complaints Form. This form can also be used to ask questions about the student complaints process.

We will address your concerns using the Student Complaints Resolution policy and procedure.

Hands holding a phone, person reading from the screen

If, after receiving a final University decision you remain dissatisfied, you can seek an external review of your complaint outcome by the Victorian Ombudsman.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Office of the DVC (Education)