Student concerns and complaints

This information is for students who have concerns or complaints. General enquiries and feedback should be directed to Enquire Deakin.

We hope that you will find your experience at Deakin to be enjoyable and rewarding. If something does go wrong, please tell us! We will do our best to address the problem and to improve the services we provide.

  1. Check the relevant information and processes

The Concerns or complaints information page links you to information on various topics and the people who can help you. Note that assessment issues are normally dealt with under different policies and procedures. See Assessment under Your course or unit on the Concerns or complaints information page.

  1. Consider talking to the person or area causing you concern

Sometimes explaining your point of view or providing constructive feedback is all that is needed.

  1. Ask someone to help you

Safer Community can help if you feel threatened or unsafe because of the way someone at Deakin is behaving. (For an immediate or after hours response on campus, call Deakin Security on 1800 062 579.) 

Discrimination, sexual harassment, victimisation, or bullying (including cyber-bullying) should be discussed first with a Harassment and Discrimination Contact Officer, or with the Head of School or area Senior Manager.

The following people can help you to resolve your concerns informally:

Points of contact

Faculties and Schools

Area Complaints Contact Email Phone

Faculty of Arts and Education

  Sally Collins
Carolyn Schofield
aepvc@deakin.edu.au 9244 3046
5227 2268

Faculty of Business and Law

All campuses Michelle Brockbank m.brockbank@deakin.edu.au 9244 3859
Burwood Jaclyn Benstead j.benstead@deakin.edu.au 924 46182
Geelong Clare Smith clare.smith@deakin.edu.au 522 73314
Geelong Jo Wilson jo.wilson@deakin.edu.au 5227 2505
Warrnambool Martin O'Brien martin.obrien@deakin.edu.au 5563 3517
Higher Degree by Research Bronwyn Kelly  bronwyn.kelly@deakin.edu.au 5227 2442

Faculty of Health

School of Medicine Simon Callahan simon.callahan@deakin.edu.au 5227 2950
School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences Amanda Williams-Constantinou amanda.williams@deakin.edu.au 9244 6935
School of Nursing and Midwifery Jennie Landrigan jennie.landrigan@deakin.edu.au 9244 6986
School of Nursing and Midwifery Michelle Smith  michelle.smith@deakin.edu.au 9244 6604
School of Psychology Shaun Brown shaun.brown@deakin.edu.au 9244 6852
School of Psychology Maria Muthiah maria.muthiah@deakin.edu.au 9244 6843
School of Health and Social Development Julie Melican  julie.melican@deakin.edu.au 5227 2356
School of Health and Social Development Karen Henderson  karen.henderson@deakin.edu.au 924 43737
Health Student and Academic Services Melinda Thomas  melinda.thomas@deakin.edu.au 925 17115

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

Primary Complaints Contact Jenny Neumann jenny.neumann@deakin.edu.au 522 72119
Alternate Complaints Contact Jan Mackenzie jan.mackenzie@deakin.edu.au 925 17462
Warrnambool Janet Keith janet.keith@deakin.edu.au 556 33327
Geelong Waurn Ponds Rohan Boyd rohan.boyd@deakin.edu.au 522 71374
Geelong Waterfront Mahdi Shariatian m.shariatian@deakin.edu.au 522 78374
Melbourne Burwood Vincent Kavenagh vincent.kavenagh@deakin.edu.au 925 17451

Institute of Koorie Education

  Brian Martin b.martin@deakin.edu.au 522 72669

Administration and Services

Issue For information go to: Designated Complaints Contact:
Admission Applications (domestic students)



International applications
Domestic students: Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 5227 3385

International students: Ping Khoo
ping.khoo@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 45211                
Building maintenance   Jonathan Parkinson
Email: jonathan.parkinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71315
Cashier Cashier Eliza Riding
Email: eliza.ryding@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 43932
Cleaning   Jonathan Parkinson
Email: jonathan.parkinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71315
CloudDeakin Help with CloudDeakin

Jacqui Butcher
Email: jacqui.butcher@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 68038

Customer Service Deakin Central Jodie Aanensen
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 68106
Dates and deadlines

Important dates

 
Enrolment and re-enrolment processes

New students enrolment information and your emailed offer letter              

Continuing students information

StudentConnect

HDR students are re-enrolled automatically

Your faculty course adviser or enrolment officer

Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73385

Enrolment amendments (changing your units or course)

Deakin Central

Information for domestic students

Information for international students

HDR students: advise Deakin Research HDR unit. Apply online for any changes of candidature

Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73385

Examinations Assessments website Ross Hagland
Email: ross.hagland@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 9246 8108
Facilities   To report maintenance issues:

For potential danger, call Security 1800 062 579. In an emergency, call 000 (add a zero if calling from an internal phone), then call Security.

Fees, finances and refunds

Fees

International Students - living in Australia

Financial Assistance

Centrelink

Study Assist

Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73342
Food services   Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531
Grounds maintenance   Jonathan Parkinson
Email: jonathan.parkinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71315
Information technology IT support

Nick Jones
Email: nicholas.jones@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 52278664

Library

Deakin University Library

Library help

Burwood - Sharon Chua
Email: sharon.chua@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 46652

Geelong Waurn Ponds - Fiona Russell
Email: f.russell@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72713

Geelong Waterfront - Bernie Lingham
Email: bernadette.lingham@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78246

Warrnambool - Vanessa Bourne
Email: vanessa.bourne@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 556 33494

Parking Parking information, fees and infringement notices

Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531

Residences Student residences

Burwood: John Colley
Email: john.colley@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 45622

Geelong: Marion Bailey
Email: marion.bayley@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 522 73453

Warrnambool: Gabrielle Tobin
Email: gabrielle.tobin@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 556 33380               

Research Services Research website Professor Joe Graffam

Email: joseph.graffam@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73113

Scholarships

Scholarships and Awards

HDR scholarships

Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Security Security

Phone (free call) 1800 062 579

Complaints Contact: Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531

Student administration   Ross Hagland - Assessment and Result issues
Email: ross.hagland@deakin.edu.au
Ph:  924 46005

Rebecca Bone - Graduation issues
Email: rebecca.bone@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 527 78063

Cathy Gutierrez - Admission and Enrolment issues
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 5227 73385

Pamela Pritchard - Fee and scholarship issues
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 7232

Jodie Aanensen - Customer Service issues
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68106

Student support  Student Life Salli Bruce
Email: salli.bruce@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 7115959
Study overseas Study overseas Email: education-abroad@deakin.edu.au

Victoria Heron
Email: victoria.heron@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 45277
Visa issues and CoE reporting

Compliance and Visas

Department of Immigration - Study in Australia

Clare Wilson
Email: clare.wilson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 9244 5091

  1. Lodge a complaint form

Lodge a Complaint Form in accordance with the Student Complaints Resolution policy and procedure if the matter is still not resolved or you would like us to investigate it formally.

The Student concerns or complaints information page provides links to other webpages, references and contacts, to help you prepare your complaint.

  1. Appeal

If you're not happy with the way the University handles your complaint, you may be able to appeal the outcome internally. You can also seek an external review of final University decisions by the Victorian Ombudsman.

For further advice, or to provide feedback or suggestions, please email studentcomplaints@deakin.edu.au

Page custodian: Pro Vice Chancellor (Planning and Integrity)
Last updated: