2020 Trimester dates

Here you will find all important dates to do with your 2020 enrolment, including teaching periods, holidays, census dates, withdrawal dates, exam periods and deadlines to apply to graduate.

University opening dates and public holidays

University and public holidays and dates for 2020 by event, date and whether open or closed*
EventDateOpen/closed*
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January Closed
University opens for 2020 Thursday 2 January Open
Australia Day Holiday Monday 27 January (in lieu of 26 January) Closed
Labour Day Monday 9 March Open
Good Friday Friday 10 April Closed
Saturday of Easter weekend Saturday 11 April Closed
Easter Sunday Sunday 12 April Closed
Easter Monday Monday 13 April Closed
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 14 April Closed
ANZAC Day Monday 27 April (in lieu of 25 April) Closed
Queen's Birthday Monday 8 June Open
AFL Grand Final Eve Replaced with Thank You Day Closed
Thank You DayFriday 23 OctoberClosed
Melbourne Cup Tuesday 3 November Open
University holiday Monday 21 December - Friday 1 January 2021 Closed
Christmas Day Friday 25 December Closed
Boxing DaySaturday 26 DecemberClosed
Boxing Day Holiday Monday 28 December Closed
New Year's Day Friday 1 January 2021 Closed
University opens for 2021 Monday 4 January 2021 Open

*When CLOSED is indicated, please note that our libraries may still be available on some days when the Uni is closed, please check the library website to confirm opening hours.

Trimester 1 2020

Trimester 1 (T1) 2020 dates and deadlines by date and event
DateEvent
Thursday 2 January University opens for 2020
Monday 20 January Trimester 1 Invoices available on StudentConnect
Monday 27 January Australia Day Holiday - University closed (Australia Day is on Sunday so holiday is on Monday)
Sunday 9 February International students - last day for commencing international students to withdraw from Trimester 1 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 10 February STAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Tuesday 11 February - Wednesday 19 February Graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront Campus
Wednesday 19 February STAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Thursday 20 February STAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 24 February - Friday 28 February International students Campus orientation and enrolment for students commencing in Trimester 1
Thursday 27 February Graduation ceremony in Warrnambool
Monday 2 March Oweek begins - all students
Saturday 7 March International students - first instalment of at least 50% of Trimester 1 fees due
Monday 9 March Trimester 1 teaching period begins
Monday 9 March Labour Day - University remains open
9 March - 13 March WEEK 1
Thursday 12 March Domestic students - Trimester 1 fees due
16 March - 20 March WEEK 2
Sunday 22 March Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 1
Sunday 22 March International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 1 and receive a 100% refund
Tuesday 24 March Last day to add units to Trimester 1 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places . NOTE this has been extended from the original date of Sunday 22 March due to COVID-19.
23 March - 27 March WEEK 3
30 March - 3 April WEEK 4
Tuesday 31 March International students - final instalment of Trimester 1 fees due
Tuesday 31 March Census date
6 April - 10 April WEEK 5
Friday 10 April - Sunday 19 April Easter vacation / Intra-trimester break
20 April - 24 April WEEK 6
27 April - 1 May WEEK 7
Monday 27 April ANZAC Day (in lieu of 25 April) - University closed
Tuesday 28 AprilTrimester 1 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Tuesday 28 April Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 1 released on StudentConnect
4 May - 8 May WEEK 8
11 May - 15 May WEEK 9
Monday 11 May Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
18 May - 22 May WEEK 10
25 May - 29 May WEEK 11
Monday 25 May Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Friday 29 May Trimester 1 teaching period ends
Monday 1 June Last day to withdraw from a Trimester 1 unit with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record. Date was originally 11 May and was changed due to COVID-19 impact.
Tuesday 2 June Withdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date. Date was originally 12 May and was changed due to COVID-19 impact.
Monday 1 June - Friday 5 June Trimester 1 study period (SWOTVAC)
Monday 8 June Exams begin (final assessment for T1 due to COVID-19)
Monday 8 June Queen's Birthday - University remains open
Friday 19 June Exams end
Monday 22 June - Friday 10 July Inter trimester break
Tuesday 23 June - Wednesday 24 June In absentia Graduations (Attendance at the June graduation ceremonies has been cancelled due to COVID-19 – students to be graduated in absentia)
Thursday 9 July Trimester 1 results released at 6 pm
Wednesday 22 July Supplementary and special exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Monday 3 August Supplementary and special exams begin
TBC Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their Trimester 1 results to Deakin
Friday 7 August Supplementary and special exams end
Tuesday 6 October - Thursday 8 OctoberIn absentia Graduations (Attendance at the October graduation ceremonies has been cancelled due to COVID-19 – students to be graduated in absentia)

Trimester 2 2020

Trimester 2 (T2) 2020 dates and deadlines by date and event
DateEvent
Thursday 4 June Trimester 2 invoices available on StudentConnect. Date was originally 25 May and was changed due to COVID-19 impact.
Monday 8 June Queen's Birthday - University remains open
Monday 22 June STAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Wednesday 1 July STAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Thursday 2 July STAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 6 JulyOweek begins
6 July - 10 July International students Campus orientation and enrolment for Trimester 2
Sunday 19 JulyInternational students – 100% if paying in full or at least 50% of Trimester 2 due fees if paying in instalments.
Date was originally 11 July and was changed due to COVID-19 impact.
Monday 13 July Trimester 2 teaching period begins
13 July - 17 July WEEK 1
20 July - 24 July WEEK 2
Sunday 26 July Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 2
Sunday 26 July International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 2 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 26 July Last day to add units to Trimester 2 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places
27 July - 31 July WEEK 3
Monday 27 July Domestic students - Trimester 2 fees due
3 August - 7 August WEEK 4
10 August - 14 August WEEK 5
Saturday 15 August International students - final instalment of Trimester 2 fees due
Saturday 15 August Census date
Monday 17 - Sunday 23 August Intra-trimester break
Monday 24 August *

Last day to withdraw from a Trimester 2 unit with a Withdrawn Early (WE) listed on academic record. Domestic students and commencing international students who withdraw by this date will not incur fees. Continuing international students who withdraw by this date will be subject to normal fee refund process. Date was originally 15 August and was changed due to COVID-19 impact.

24 August - 28 August WEEK 6
31 August - 4 September WEEK 7
Monday 31 August Exam timetable released on StudentConnect
7 September - 11 September WEEK 8
Friday 11 September Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 2 released on StudentConnect
14 September - 18 September WEEK 9
21 September - 25 September WEEK 10
Friday 25 September AFL Grand Final Friday public holiday - to be rescheduled - University open
Monday 28 September Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location
28 September - 2 October WEEK 11
Friday 2 October Trimester 2 teaching period ends
Sunday 4 October

Last day to withdraw from a Trimester 2 unit with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record

This date was originally 13 September, changed to 4 October due to COVID-19

Monday 5 October

Withdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date

This date was originally 14 September, changed to 5 October due to COVID-19

Monday 5 October - Friday 9 October Study period (SWOTVAC)
Monday 12 October Exams begin
Thursday 22 October Exams end. Date was originally 23 October and was changed due to Thank You Day.
Monday 26 October - Friday 6 November Inter-trimester break
Tuesday 3 November Melbourne Cup Day - University remains open
Monday 9 November Graduation applications open for students completing their degree in Tri 2 for February ceremonies
Friday 6 November Trimester 2 Results released
Monday 14 December Supplementary and special exam timetable for Tri 2 released on StudentConnect
Friday 18 December Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree in Tri 2 for February ceremonies
TBC Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their Tri 2 results to Deakin
Thursday 11 February 2021 Supplementary and special exams for Tri 2 begin
Friday 19 February 2021 Supplementary and special exams for Tri 2 end
Tuesday 8 December - Wednesday 9 December

In absentia Graduations (Attendance at the December graduation ceremonies has been cancelled due to COVID-19 – students to be graduated in absentia)

Tuesday 9 February - Thursday 25 February 2021Graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront and Warrnambool Campus

Trimester 3 2020

Trimester 3 (T3) 2020 dates and deadlines by date and event
DateEvent
Monday 28 September Trimester 3 invoices available on StudentConnect
Monday 26 October STAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Monday 2 NovemberOweek begins
Monday 2 November International students Trimester 3 Campus orientation and enrolment
Monday 2 November STAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Tuesday 3 November STAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Tuesday 3 November Melbourne Cup Day - University remains open
Monday 9 November Trimester 3 teaching period begins
Wednesday 11 November International students - first instalment of at least 50% of Trimester 3 fees due
9 November - 13 November WEEK 1
16 November - 20 November WEEK 2
Sunday 22 November International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 3 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 22 November Last day to add units to Trimester 3 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places
Sunday 22 November Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 3
23 November - 27 November WEEK 3
Friday 27 November Domestic students - Trimester 3 fees due
30 November - 4 December WEEK 4
7 December - 11 December WEEK 5
Monday 14 December Trimester 3 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
14 December - 18 December WEEK 6
Tuesday 15 December Census date
Tuesday 15 December International students - final instalment of Trimester 3 fees due
Tuesday 15 December International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from Trimester 3 and receive a 100% refund. This date was originally 11 October and related to a 90% refund. The date has been changed for Tri 3 2020.
Monday 21 December 2020 - Sunday 3 January 2021 Intra-trimester break
4 January - 8 January 2021 WEEK 7
11 January - 15 January 2021 WEEK 8
Thursday 14 January 2021 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Tuesday 12 January 2021 Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 3 released on StudentConnect
18 January - 22 January 2021 WEEK 9
Tuesday 26 January 2021 Australia Day Holiday - University closed
25 January -29 January 2021 WEEK 10
Thursday 28 January 2021 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
1 February - 5 February 2021 WEEK 11
Friday 5 February 2021 Trimester 3 teaching period ends
Sunday 7 February 2021

Last day to withdraw from a Trimester 3 unit with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record

This date was originally 10 January, changed to 7 February due to COVID-19

Monday 8 February 2021

Withdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date

This date was originally 11 January, changed to 8 February due to COVID-19

Monday 8 - Wednesday 10 February 2021 Trimester 3 study period (SWOTVAC)
Thursday 11 February 2021 Exams begin
Friday 19 February 2021 Exams end
Monday 22 February - Friday 5 March 2021 Inter trimester break
Thursday 4 March 2021 Results released at 6 pm
TBC Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their results to Deakin
Friday 12 March 2021Graduation applications open for students completing their degree in Tri 3 for June 2021 ceremonies
Monday 26 April 2021 Supplementary and special exam timetable for Trimester 3 released on StudentConnect
Friday 30 April 2021

Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree in Tri 3 for June ceremonies

Monday 7 June 2021 Supplementary and special exams for Trimester 3 start
Friday 18 June 2021 Supplementary and special exams for Trimester 3 end
Tuesday 22 June - Wednesday 23 June 2021Graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront Campus for students completing in Tri 3 2020

Please be aware that these dates are subject to change; check this page regularly.

Census date explained

The census date is important as it is the last date to finalise aspects of your enrolment and fee obligations as detailed below.

International students:

International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from current Trimester and receive a 50% refund

Domestic students:

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from current Trimester or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported, HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP or SA-HELP students to make full or partial upfront payments for current Trimester
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for Trimester
  • Last day to withdraw from current Trimester without incurring the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

All students

Last day to withdraw from current Trimester units without reference on academic record

* COVID-19 grace period

Due to COVID-19, the grace period for aspects of withdrawal dates has changed. Please see Important dates and census for more information.

StudentConnect

Login to StudentConnect to check your fees or change your enrolment.

For further assistance contact Student Central.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Division of Student Administration