2021 Intensive Unit dates

This page contains the teaching periods and census dates for students studying an Intensive Unit through Deakin Business School in 2021.

University opening dates

University and public holidays and dates for 2021 by event, date and whether open or closed*
EventDateOpen/closed*
New Year's Day Friday 1 January Closed
University opens for 2021 Monday 4 January Open
Australia Day Tuesday 26 January Closed
Labour Day Monday 8 March Open
Good Friday Friday 2 April Closed
Saturday of Easter weekend Saturday 3 April Closed
Easter Sunday Sunday 4 April Closed
Easter Monday Monday 5 April Closed
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 6 April Closed
ANZAC Day Monday 26 April (in lieu of 25 April) Closed
Queen's Birthday Monday 14 June Open
AFL Grand Final Eve TBA Closed
Melbourne Cup Tuesday 2 November Open
University shut down Friday 24 December Closed
Christmas Day Saturday 25 December Closed
Christmas Day holiday Monday 27 December Closed
Boxing Day Sunday 26 December Closed
Boxing Day Holiday Tuesday 28 December Closed
New Year's Day Saturday 1 January 2022 Closed
University opens for 2022 Wednesday 5 January 2022 Open

*When CLOSED is indicated, please note that our libraries may still be available on some days when the Uni is closed, please check the library website to confirm opening hours.

Intensive period dates

Intensive units are offered through Deakin Business School. For a full list of units available, fees and further information, visit Intensive Units.

Intensive 1

Dates and events for intensive 1 period
DateEvent
Sunday 31 January Teaching period begins
Monday 18 January Census date
Friday 5 February Teaching period ends
Friday 26 February Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 2

Dates and events for intensive 2 period
DateEvent
Sunday 14 March  Teaching period begins
Monday 1 March  Census date
Friday 19 March  Teaching period ends
Friday 9 April Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 3

Dates and events for intensive 3 period
DateEvent
Sunday 18 April  Teaching period begins
Monday 5 April  Census date
Friday 23 April  Teaching period ends
Friday 14 May Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 4

Dates and events for intensive 4 period
DateEvent
Sunday,2 May  Teaching period begins
Monday 19 April  Census date
Friday 7 May  Teaching period ends
Friday 28 May 

Intensive 5

Dates and events for intensive 5 period
DateEvent
Sunday 6 June  Teaching period begins
Monday 24 May  Census date
Friday 11 June  Teaching period ends
Friday 2 July Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 6

Dates and events for intensive 6 period
DateEvent
Sunday 18 July  Teaching period begins
Monday 5 July  Census date
Friday 23 July  Teaching period ends
Friday 13 August Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 7

Dates and events for intensive 7 period
DateEvent
Sunday 8 August  Teaching period begins
Monday 26 July  Census date
Friday 13 August  Teaching period ends
Friday 3 September Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 8

Dates and events for intensive 8 period
DateEvent
Sunday 12 September  Teaching period begins
Monda, 30 August  Census date
Friday 17 September  Teaching period ends
Friday 8 October Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 9

Dates and events for intensive 9 period
DateEvent
Sunday 10 October  Teaching period begins
Monday 27 September  Census date
Friday 15 October  Teaching period ends
Friday 5 November Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 10

Dates and events for intensive 10 period
DateEvent
Sunday 7 November  Teaching period begins
Monday 25 October  Census date
Friday 12 November  Teaching period ends
Friday 3 December Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 11

Dates and events for intensive 11 period
DateEvent
Sunday 28 November  Teaching period begins
Monday 15 November  Census date
Friday 3 December  Teaching period ends
Friday 24 December Post Work Closes (end of teaching)

Intensive 12

Dates and events for intensive 12 period
DateEvent
Sunday 5 December Teaching period begins
Monday 22 November Census date
Friday 10 December Teaching period ends
Friday 31 DecemberPost Work Closes (end of teaching)

Census date explained

The census date is important as it is the last date to finalise aspects of your enrolment and fee obligations as detailed below.

International students:

International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from current study period and receive a 50% refund

Domestic students:

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from current study period or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported, HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP or SA-HELP students to make full or partial upfront payments for current study period
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for the study period
  • Last day to withdraw from current study period without incurring the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

All students

Last day to withdraw from current study period units without reference on academic record

StudentConnect

Login to StudentConnect to check your fees or change your enrolment.

For further assistance contact Student Central.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Division of Student Administration