2021 Trimester dates

Here you will find all important dates to do with your 2021 enrolment, including teaching periods, holidays, census dates, withdrawal dates, exam periods and deadlines to apply to graduate.

University opening dates and public holidays

University and public holidays and dates for 2021 by event, date and whether open or closed*
EventDateOpen/closed*
New Year's Day Friday 1 January Closed
University opens for 2021Monday 4 January Open
Australia Day Tuesday 26 January Closed
Labour Day Monday 8 March Open
Good Friday Friday 2 April Closed
Saturday of Easter weekend Saturday 3 April Closed
Easter Sunday Sunday 4 April Closed
Easter Monday Monday 5 April Closed
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 6 April Closed
ANZAC Day Monday 26 April (in lieu of 25 April) Closed
Queen's Birthday Monday 14 June Open
AFL Grand Final Eve TBA Closed
Melbourne Cup Tuesday 2 November Open
University shut downFriday 24 December Closed
Christmas Day Saturday 25 December Closed
Christmas Day holidayMonday 27 DecemberClosed
Boxing Day Sunday 26 December Closed
Boxing Day Holiday Tuesday 28 December Closed
New Year's Day Saturday 1 January 2022 Closed
University opens for 2022Wednesday 5 January 2022 Open

*When CLOSED is indicated, please note that our libraries may still be available on some days when the Uni is closed, please check the library website to confirm opening hours.

Trimester 1 2021

Trimester 1 (T1) 2021 dates and deadlines by date and event
DateEvent
Monday 18 JanuaryTrimester 1 Invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 7 FebruaryInternational students - last day for commencing international students to withdraw from Trimester 1 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 8 FebruarySTAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Wednesday 17 FebruarySTAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Thursday 18 February STAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 22 February - Friday 26 FebruaryInternational students Campus orientation and enrolment for students commencing in Trimester 1
Monday 1 March - Friday 5 MarchOrientation week  - all students
Sunday 7 MarchInternational students - first instalment of at least 50% of Trimester 1 fees due
Monday 8 MarchTrimester 1 teaching period begins
Monday 8 March - Friday 12 MarchWEEK 1
Friday 12 MarchDomestic students - Trimester 1 fees due
Monday 15 March - Friday 19 MarchWEEK 2
Sunday 21 MarchLast day to add units to Trimester 1 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places.
Sunday 21 MarchInternational students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 1 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 21 MarchCross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 1
Monday 22 March - Friday 26 MarchWEEK 3
Monday 29 March - Thursday 1 AprilWEEK 4
Wednesday 31 MarchInternational students - final instalment of Trimester 1 fees due
Wednesday 31 MarchCensus date
Friday 2 April - Sunday 11 AprilEaster vacation / Intra-trimester break
Monday 12 April - Friday 16 AprilWEEK 5
Monday 19 April - Friday 23 AprilWEEK 6
Monday 26 April - Friday 30 AprilWEEK 7
Monday 26 AprilTrimester 1 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Wednesday 28 AprilCommonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 1 released on StudentConnect
Monday 3 May - Friday 7 MayWEEK 8
Monday 10 May - Friday 14 MayWEEK 9
Monday 10 MayExam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Monday 10 MayLast day to withdraw from a Trimester 1 unit with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record.
Tuesday 11 MayWithdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date.
Monday 17 May - Friday 21 MayWEEK 10
Monday 24 May - Friday 28 MayWEEK 11
Monday 24 MayExam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Friday 28 MayTrimester 1 teaching period ends
Monday 31 May - Friday 4 JuneTrimester 1 study period
Monday 7 JuneExams begin
Friday 18 JuneExams end
Monday 21 June - Friday 9 JulyInter trimester break
Friday 25 JuneGraduation applications open for students completing their degree in Trimester 1 for October ceremonies
Thursday 8 JulyTrimester 1 results released at 6 pm
Wednesday 21 JulySupplementary and special exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Friday 30 JulyCross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their Trimester 1 results to Deakin
Monday 2 AugustSupplementary and special exams begin
Friday 6 AugustSupplementary and special exams end
Friday 13 AugustGraduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of Trimester 1 for October ceremonies
Tuesday 5 October - Friday 8 OctoberGraduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront Campus

Trimester 2 2021

Trimester 2 (T2) 2021 dates and deadlines by date and event
DateEvent
Monday 24 May Trimester 2 invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 13 June International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from Trimester 2 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 21 June STAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Wednesday 30 June STAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Thursday 1 July STAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 5 July - Friday 9 July International students Campus orientation and enrolment for Trimester 2
Sunday 11 July International students - 100% if paying in full or at least 50% of Trimester 2 due fees if paying in instalments.
Monday 12 July Trimester 2 teaching period begins
Monday 12 July - Friday 16 July WEEK 1
Monday 19 July - Friday 23 July WEEK 2
Sunday 25 July Last day to add units to Trimester 2 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places
Sunday 25 July International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 2 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 25 July Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 2
Monday 26 July - Friday 30 July WEEK 3
Tuesday 27 July Domestic students - Trimester 2 fees due
Monday 2 August - Friday 6 August WEEK 4
Monday 9 August - Friday 13 August WEEK 5
Sunday 15 August Census date
Sunday 15 August International students - final instalment of Trimester 2 fees due
Monday 16 August - Sunday 22 August Intra-trimester break
Monday 23 August - Friday 27 August WEEK 6
Monday 30 August Exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Monday 30 August - Friday 3 September WEEK 7
Monday 6 September - Friday 10 September WEEK 8
Sunday 12 September Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 2 released on StudentConnect
Monday 13 September Last day to withdraw from a Trimester 2 unit with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
Monday 13 September - Friday 17 September WEEK 9
Monday 13 September Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Tuesday 14 September Withdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date
Monday 20 September - Friday 24 September WEEK 10
Monday 27 September Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Monday 27 September Graduation applications open for international and Medicine students completing their degree in Trimester 2 / Semester 2 for December ceremonies
Monday 27 September - Friday 1 October WEEK 11
Friday 1 October Trimester 2 teaching period ends
Monday 4 October - Friday 8 October Study period
Monday 11 October Exams begin
Friday 22 October Exams end
Monday 25 October - Friday 5 November Inter-trimester break
Friday 5 November Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for international and medicine/surgery students completing their degree in Trimester 2 / Semester 2 for December ceremonies
TBA Graduation applications open for students completing their degree in Trimester 2 for February ceremonies
Friday 5 November Trimester 2 Results released at 6 pm
Tuesday 7 December - Wednesday 8 December Graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront Campus (International students and School of Medicine)
TBA Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree in Trimester 2 for February ceremonies
Friday 3 December Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their Trimester 2 results to Deakin
Monday 13 December Supplementary and special exam timetable for Trimester 2 released on StudentConnect
Wednesday 10 February 2022 Supplementary and special exams for Trimester 2 begin
Friday 18 February Supplementary and special exams for Trimester 2 end
TBA Graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront and Warrnambool Campus

Trimester 3 2021

Trimester 3 (T3) 2021 dates and deadlines by date and event
DateEvent
Monday 27 September Trimester 3 invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 10 October International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from Trimester 3 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 25 October STAR timetable opens 10am for preference entry for campus based units
Monday 1 November STAR closes 10am for sorting of preferences
Monday 1 November - Friday 5 November International students Trimester 3 Campus orientation and enrolment
Tuesday 2 November STAR re-opens 10am for timetable viewing and adjustment
Monday 8 November Trimester 3 teaching period begins
Monday 8 November - Friday 12 November WEEK 1
Thursday 11 November International students - first instalment of at least 50% of Trimester 3 fees due
Monday 15 November - Friday 19 November WEEK 2
Sunday 21 November  Last day to add units to Trimester 3 enrolment both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places
Sunday 21 November  International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Trimester 3 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 21 November Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 3
Monday 22 November - Friday 26 November WEEK 3
Saturday 27 November Domestic students - Trimester 3 fees due
Monday 29 November - Friday 3 December WEEK 4
Monday 6 December - Friday 10 December WEEK 5
Monday 13 December Trimester 3 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Monday 13 December - Friday 17 December WEEK 6
Wednesday 15 December Census date
Wednesday 15 December International students - final instalment of Trimester 3 fees due
Monday 20 December - Sunday 2 January 2022 Intra-trimester break
Monday 3 January 2022 - Friday 7 January 2022 WEEK 7
Monday 10 January 2022 Last day to withdraw from a Trimester 3 unit with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
Monday 10 January 2022 - Friday 14 January 2022 WEEK 8
Tuesday 11 January 2022 Withdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date
Wednesday 12 January 2022 Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Trimester 3 released on StudentConnect
Monday 17 January 2022 - Friday 21 January 2022 WEEK 9
Monday 24 January 2022 - Friday 28 January 2022 WEEK 10
Thursday 13 January 2022 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Monday 31 January 2022 - Friday 4 February 2022 WEEK 11
Thursday 27 January 2022 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units
Friday 4 February 2022 Trimester 3 teaching period ends
Monday 7 February 2022 - Wednesday 9 February 2022 Trimester 3 study period
Thursday 10 February 2022 Exams begin
Friday 18 February 2022 Exams end
Monday 21 February 2022 - Friday 4 March 2022 Inter trimester break
Friday 1 March 2022 Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their results to Deakin
Thursday 3 March 2022 Results released at 6 pm
Monday 25 April 2022 Supplementary and special exam timetable for Trimester 3 released on StudentConnect
Monday 6 June 2022 Supplementary and special exams for Trimester 3 start
Friday 17 June 2022 Supplementary and special exams for Trimester 3 end
TBA Graduation ceremonies at Geelong Waterfront Campus

Please be aware that these dates are subject to change; check this page regularly.

Census date explained

The census date is important as it is the last date to finalise aspects of your enrolment and fee obligations as detailed below.

International students:

International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from current Trimester and receive a 50% refund

Domestic students:

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from current Trimester or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported, HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP or SA-HELP students to make full or partial upfront payments for current Trimester
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for Trimester
  • Last day to withdraw from current Trimester without incurring the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

All students

Last day to withdraw from current Trimester units without reference on academic record

StudentConnect

Login to StudentConnect to check your fees or change your enrolment.

For further assistance contact Student Central.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Division of Student Administration